SFML VS 2010 Binaries

Whether you're a newbie or an experienced programmer, any questions, help, or just talk of any language will be welcomed here.

Moderator: Coders of Rage

Post Reply
Live-Dimension
Chaos Rift Junior
Chaos Rift Junior
Posts: 345
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 7:23 pm
Favorite Gaming Platforms: PC - Windows 7
Programming Language of Choice: c++;haxe
Contact:

SFML VS 2010 Binaries

Post by Live-Dimension »

SFML was never going to work for VS 2010 because the binary files are for VS 2008, and are incompatible with VS 2010. Because I use SFML and others on this forum do, I got the source for SFML and recompiled in VS 2010.

I have compiled Static and Dynamic, Debug and Release builds, but be warned. I haven't tested these except a quick 2 second test of static debug only. Consider these as a "beta" product and as such DO NOT USE THIS FOR FINAL RELEASES. This is probably illegal in some obscure part of the licence, but whatever. If I get a notice I'll simply list how to compile for VS 2010. Do not ask for support on the SFML forums or here about linking issues or crashes as it's likely to be some issue with VS 2010 + SFML I don't see why there would be further issues, but I am no expert on VS libraries/SFML internals. SFML shouldn't take too long to support VS 2010 as there is very little to do to support it, but it probably won't be until the next release.

DO NOT USE THESE UNLESS YOU KNOW WHAT YOU ARE DOING. USE VS 2008 INSTEAD AND WAIT.
Get VS 2010 SFML BETA binary files here.

Note that any other projects that can't be compiled because they depend on binaries compiled for VS 2008 should theoretically be able to compile with VS 2010 as long as you have the source. Of course, the same issues arise as listed above.
Image
User avatar
davidthefat
Chaos Rift Maniac
Chaos Rift Maniac
Posts: 529
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2008 3:51 pm
Current Project: Fully Autonomous Robot
Favorite Gaming Platforms: PS3
Programming Language of Choice: C++
Location: California
Contact:

Re: SFML VS 2010 Binaries

Post by davidthefat »

Just ditch VS and get CodeBlocks? :lol: Problem solved
User avatar
Bakkon
Chaos Rift Junior
Chaos Rift Junior
Posts: 384
Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 2:38 pm
Programming Language of Choice: C++
Location: Indiana

Re: SFML VS 2010 Binaries

Post by Bakkon »

Just started playing with SFML about an hour ago. Fuuuck, why have I been such a little SDL gay baby for so long? This shit owns.
Live-Dimension
Chaos Rift Junior
Chaos Rift Junior
Posts: 345
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 7:23 pm
Favorite Gaming Platforms: PC - Windows 7
Programming Language of Choice: c++;haxe
Contact:

Re: SFML VS 2010 Binaries

Post by Live-Dimension »

Bakkon wrote:Just started playing with SFML about an hour ago. Fuuuck, why have I been such a little SDL gay baby for so long? This shit owns.
:lol:
SFML is virtually a 2D OpenGL, so it inherits its power, speed, and even a simplified shader language.
Image
User avatar
short
ES Beta Backer
ES Beta Backer
Posts: 548
Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2009 2:22 am
Current Project: c++, c
Favorite Gaming Platforms: SNES, PS2, SNES, SNES, PC NES
Programming Language of Choice: c, c++
Location: Oregon, US

Re: SFML VS 2010 Binaries

Post by short »

Live-Dimension wrote: :lol:
SFML is virtually a 2D OpenGL, so it inherits its power, speed, and even a simplified shader language.
Do tell, I have just been using sfml for everything BUT graphics. Does it really keep all its speed by using the sfml rendering libraries as opposed to direct opengl rendering?

edit: http://elysianshadows.com/phpBB3/viewto ... hilit=sfml
My github repository contains the project I am currently working on,
link: https://github.com/bjadamson
User avatar
programmerinprogress
Chaos Rift Devotee
Chaos Rift Devotee
Posts: 632
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2008 7:31 am
Current Project: some crazy stuff, i'll tell soon :-)
Favorite Gaming Platforms: PC
Programming Language of Choice: C++!
Location: The UK
Contact:

Re: SFML VS 2010 Binaries

Post by programmerinprogress »

hmm, I've never really looked into this library.

It's hard letting go of a library you've invested so much time in you know :lol:
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I think I can program pretty well, it's my compiler that needs convincing!
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
And now a joke to lighten to mood :D

I wander what programming language anakin skywalker used to program C3-PO's AI back on tatooine? my guess is Jawa :P
User avatar
Falco Girgis
Elysian Shadows Team
Elysian Shadows Team
Posts: 10294
Joined: Thu May 20, 2004 2:04 pm
Current Project: Elysian Shadows
Favorite Gaming Platforms: Dreamcast, SNES, NES
Programming Language of Choice: C/++
Location: Studio Vorbis, AL
Contact:

Re: SFML VS 2010 Binaries

Post by Falco Girgis »

davidthefat wrote:Just ditch VS and get CodeBlocks? :lol: Problem solved
Then you're introducing yet another problem: the fact that you are now using a piece of shit IDE. ;)
User avatar
GroundUpEngine
Chaos Rift Devotee
Chaos Rift Devotee
Posts: 835
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2009 2:01 pm
Current Project: mixture
Favorite Gaming Platforms: PC
Programming Language of Choice: C++
Location: UK

Re: SFML VS 2010 Binaries

Post by GroundUpEngine »

GyroVorbis wrote:
davidthefat wrote:Just ditch VS and get CodeBlocks? :lol: Problem solved
Then you're introducing yet another problem: the fact that you are now using a piece of shit IDE. ;)
Damn :lol:
As much as I'd like to argue, I'd be a hypocrite because I just ported all my shit back to VS lmao.
Live-Dimension
Chaos Rift Junior
Chaos Rift Junior
Posts: 345
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 7:23 pm
Favorite Gaming Platforms: PC - Windows 7
Programming Language of Choice: c++;haxe
Contact:

Re: SFML VS 2010 Binaries

Post by Live-Dimension »

short wrote:
Live-Dimension wrote: :lol:
SFML is virtually a 2D OpenGL, so it inherits its power, speed, and even a simplified shader language.
Do tell, I have just been using sfml for everything BUT graphics. Does it really keep all its speed by using the sfml rendering libraries as opposed to direct opengl rendering?

edit: http://elysianshadows.com/phpBB3/viewto ... hilit=sfml
I should of explained better. SFML is a wrapper for 2D-only OpenGL. It's pretty much what you'd write if you were writing an engine for using OpenGL in 2D. As such, I'm not sure if any performance gains would be noticeable with using direct OGL, as you'd have to write this engine anyway.

You can of course use your own OGL rendering commands instead of SFML graphics, so you can use 3D inside an SFML window if you wanted to.

Also, it can have multiple render windows, where as SDL can only have one (AFAIK).
Image
Post Reply