SFML VS 2010 Binaries
Moderator: Coders of Rage
-
- Chaos Rift Junior
- Posts: 345
- Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 7:23 pm
- Favorite Gaming Platforms: PC - Windows 7
- Programming Language of Choice: c++;haxe
- Contact:
SFML VS 2010 Binaries
SFML was never going to work for VS 2010 because the binary files are for VS 2008, and are incompatible with VS 2010. Because I use SFML and others on this forum do, I got the source for SFML and recompiled in VS 2010.
I have compiled Static and Dynamic, Debug and Release builds, but be warned. I haven't tested these except a quick 2 second test of static debug only. Consider these as a "beta" product and as such DO NOT USE THIS FOR FINAL RELEASES. This is probably illegal in some obscure part of the licence, but whatever. If I get a notice I'll simply list how to compile for VS 2010. Do not ask for support on the SFML forums or here about linking issues or crashes as it's likely to be some issue with VS 2010 + SFML I don't see why there would be further issues, but I am no expert on VS libraries/SFML internals. SFML shouldn't take too long to support VS 2010 as there is very little to do to support it, but it probably won't be until the next release.
DO NOT USE THESE UNLESS YOU KNOW WHAT YOU ARE DOING. USE VS 2008 INSTEAD AND WAIT.
Get VS 2010 SFML BETA binary files here.
Note that any other projects that can't be compiled because they depend on binaries compiled for VS 2008 should theoretically be able to compile with VS 2010 as long as you have the source. Of course, the same issues arise as listed above.
I have compiled Static and Dynamic, Debug and Release builds, but be warned. I haven't tested these except a quick 2 second test of static debug only. Consider these as a "beta" product and as such DO NOT USE THIS FOR FINAL RELEASES. This is probably illegal in some obscure part of the licence, but whatever. If I get a notice I'll simply list how to compile for VS 2010. Do not ask for support on the SFML forums or here about linking issues or crashes as it's likely to be some issue with VS 2010 + SFML I don't see why there would be further issues, but I am no expert on VS libraries/SFML internals. SFML shouldn't take too long to support VS 2010 as there is very little to do to support it, but it probably won't be until the next release.
DO NOT USE THESE UNLESS YOU KNOW WHAT YOU ARE DOING. USE VS 2008 INSTEAD AND WAIT.
Get VS 2010 SFML BETA binary files here.
Note that any other projects that can't be compiled because they depend on binaries compiled for VS 2008 should theoretically be able to compile with VS 2010 as long as you have the source. Of course, the same issues arise as listed above.
- davidthefat
- Chaos Rift Maniac
- Posts: 529
- Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2008 3:51 pm
- Current Project: Fully Autonomous Robot
- Favorite Gaming Platforms: PS3
- Programming Language of Choice: C++
- Location: California
- Contact:
Re: SFML VS 2010 Binaries
Just ditch VS and get CodeBlocks? Problem solved
- Bakkon
- Chaos Rift Junior
- Posts: 384
- Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 2:38 pm
- Programming Language of Choice: C++
- Location: Indiana
Re: SFML VS 2010 Binaries
Just started playing with SFML about an hour ago. Fuuuck, why have I been such a little SDL gay baby for so long? This shit owns.
-
- Chaos Rift Junior
- Posts: 345
- Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 7:23 pm
- Favorite Gaming Platforms: PC - Windows 7
- Programming Language of Choice: c++;haxe
- Contact:
Re: SFML VS 2010 Binaries
Bakkon wrote:Just started playing with SFML about an hour ago. Fuuuck, why have I been such a little SDL gay baby for so long? This shit owns.
SFML is virtually a 2D OpenGL, so it inherits its power, speed, and even a simplified shader language.
- short
- ES Beta Backer
- Posts: 548
- Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2009 2:22 am
- Current Project: c++, c
- Favorite Gaming Platforms: SNES, PS2, SNES, SNES, PC NES
- Programming Language of Choice: c, c++
- Location: Oregon, US
Re: SFML VS 2010 Binaries
Do tell, I have just been using sfml for everything BUT graphics. Does it really keep all its speed by using the sfml rendering libraries as opposed to direct opengl rendering?Live-Dimension wrote:
SFML is virtually a 2D OpenGL, so it inherits its power, speed, and even a simplified shader language.
edit: http://elysianshadows.com/phpBB3/viewto ... hilit=sfml
My github repository contains the project I am currently working on,
link: https://github.com/bjadamson
link: https://github.com/bjadamson
- programmerinprogress
- Chaos Rift Devotee
- Posts: 632
- Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2008 7:31 am
- Current Project: some crazy stuff, i'll tell soon :-)
- Favorite Gaming Platforms: PC
- Programming Language of Choice: C++!
- Location: The UK
- Contact:
Re: SFML VS 2010 Binaries
hmm, I've never really looked into this library.
It's hard letting go of a library you've invested so much time in you know
It's hard letting go of a library you've invested so much time in you know
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I think I can program pretty well, it's my compiler that needs convincing!
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
And now a joke to lighten to mood :D
I wander what programming language anakin skywalker used to program C3-PO's AI back on tatooine? my guess is Jawa :P
I think I can program pretty well, it's my compiler that needs convincing!
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
And now a joke to lighten to mood :D
I wander what programming language anakin skywalker used to program C3-PO's AI back on tatooine? my guess is Jawa :P
- Falco Girgis
- Elysian Shadows Team
- Posts: 10294
- Joined: Thu May 20, 2004 2:04 pm
- Current Project: Elysian Shadows
- Favorite Gaming Platforms: Dreamcast, SNES, NES
- Programming Language of Choice: C/++
- Location: Studio Vorbis, AL
- Contact:
Re: SFML VS 2010 Binaries
Then you're introducing yet another problem: the fact that you are now using a piece of shit IDE.davidthefat wrote:Just ditch VS and get CodeBlocks? Problem solved
- GroundUpEngine
- Chaos Rift Devotee
- Posts: 835
- Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2009 2:01 pm
- Current Project: mixture
- Favorite Gaming Platforms: PC
- Programming Language of Choice: C++
- Location: UK
Re: SFML VS 2010 Binaries
DamnGyroVorbis wrote:Then you're introducing yet another problem: the fact that you are now using a piece of shit IDE.davidthefat wrote:Just ditch VS and get CodeBlocks? Problem solved
As much as I'd like to argue, I'd be a hypocrite because I just ported all my shit back to VS lmao.
-
- Chaos Rift Junior
- Posts: 345
- Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 7:23 pm
- Favorite Gaming Platforms: PC - Windows 7
- Programming Language of Choice: c++;haxe
- Contact:
Re: SFML VS 2010 Binaries
I should of explained better. SFML is a wrapper for 2D-only OpenGL. It's pretty much what you'd write if you were writing an engine for using OpenGL in 2D. As such, I'm not sure if any performance gains would be noticeable with using direct OGL, as you'd have to write this engine anyway.short wrote:Do tell, I have just been using sfml for everything BUT graphics. Does it really keep all its speed by using the sfml rendering libraries as opposed to direct opengl rendering?Live-Dimension wrote:
SFML is virtually a 2D OpenGL, so it inherits its power, speed, and even a simplified shader language.
edit: http://elysianshadows.com/phpBB3/viewto ... hilit=sfml
You can of course use your own OGL rendering commands instead of SFML graphics, so you can use 3D inside an SFML window if you wanted to.
Also, it can have multiple render windows, where as SDL can only have one (AFAIK).