QT GUI Development

Whether you're a newbie or an experienced programmer, any questions, help, or just talk of any language will be welcomed here.

Moderator: Coders of Rage

User avatar
M_D_K
Chaos Rift Demigod
Chaos Rift Demigod
Posts: 1087
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2008 10:33 am
Favorite Gaming Platforms: PC
Programming Language of Choice: C/++
Location: UK

Re: QT GUI Development

Post by M_D_K »

GyroVorbis wrote:I've had KDE crash just as many times as Windows Explorer. But yeah, I will agree that I enjoy the interface much more.

From what I've seen, Windows 7 looks solid.
That would be compiz doing that, I found when using KDE 3.x with compiz enabled it would crash the window decorator. Plasma in KDE4 hasn't crashed on me once.

And my custom setup with OpenBox + tint2 + composite hasn't crashed either. As for windows 7 I haven't really been following it, but from what I've heard I'm skeptical of it.
Gyro Sheen wrote:you pour their inventory onto my life
IRC wrote: <sparda> The routine had a stack overflow, sorry.
<sparda> Apparently the stack was full of shit.
User avatar
kamokow
Chaos Rift Cool Newbie
Chaos Rift Cool Newbie
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 9:36 pm
Programming Language of Choice: C++
Location: Canada

Re: QT GUI Development

Post by kamokow »

JaxDragon wrote:I think it'll take some getting used to for the whole "only icons for windows in the taskbar" thing.
You can turn that off and make it act like the old taskbar, but it really doesnt take that much to get used to (imho)
Image
User avatar
JaxDragon
Chaos Rift Junior
Chaos Rift Junior
Posts: 395
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2008 2:03 pm
Current Project: Kanoba Engine
Favorite Gaming Platforms: PS3, PC
Programming Language of Choice: C++
Location: Northeast NC

Re: QT GUI Development

Post by JaxDragon »

kamokow wrote:
JaxDragon wrote:I think it'll take some getting used to for the whole "only icons for windows in the taskbar" thing.
You can turn that off and make it act like the old taskbar, but it really doesnt take that much to get used to (imho)
Well that's good. It would have irritated the crap out of me.
User avatar
Falco Girgis
Elysian Shadows Team
Elysian Shadows Team
Posts: 10294
Joined: Thu May 20, 2004 2:04 pm
Current Project: Elysian Shadows
Favorite Gaming Platforms: Dreamcast, SNES, NES
Programming Language of Choice: C/++
Location: Studio Vorbis, AL
Contact:

Re: QT GUI Development

Post by Falco Girgis »

My first impressions of QT, the development kit, and everything about it are absolutely positive. It is extremely powerful and is ridiculously easy to use. I will most certainly be using it in my future GUI endeavors. It compiles seamlessly for GNU/Linux, Mac, and Windows, and is extremely powerful. It has built in 2D graphics handling and integrates pretty seamlessly with OpenGL.

For all of you guys who would like to start developing your own level editor or tools for your game, I would highly recommend you use QT.
K-Bal
ES Beta Backer
ES Beta Backer
Posts: 701
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2009 3:21 pm
Location: Germany, Aachen
Contact:

Re: QT GUI Development

Post by K-Bal »

GyroVorbis wrote:It has built in 2D graphics handling and integrates pretty seamlessly with OpenGL.
You don't even have to touch these, i.e. we are using a custom SFMLWidget for our level editor. So we can use all the drawing stuff from the game in the editor, too.
User avatar
dandymcgee
ES Beta Backer
ES Beta Backer
Posts: 4709
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2008 3:24 pm
Current Project: https://github.com/dbechrd/RicoTech
Favorite Gaming Platforms: NES, Sega Genesis, PS2, PC
Programming Language of Choice: C
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: QT GUI Development

Post by dandymcgee »

GyroVorbis wrote:My first impressions of QT, the development kit, and everything about it are absolutely positive. It is extremely powerful and is ridiculously easy to use. I will most certainly be using it in my future GUI endeavors. It compiles seamlessly for GNU/Linux, Mac, and Windows, and is extremely powerful. It has built in 2D graphics handling and integrates pretty seamlessly with OpenGL.

For all of you guys who would like to start developing your own level editor or tools for your game, I would highly recommend you use QT.
I just downloaded it yesterday and checked it out. I didn't realize it was an entire IDE! The documentation is awesome, the example code is extraordinarily organized, and the whole thing just looks stunningly beautiful. This is by far one of the coolest tools I have ever seen.
Falco Girgis wrote:It is imperative that I can broadcast my narcissistic commit strings to the Twitter! Tweet Tweet, bitches! :twisted:
User avatar
Falco Girgis
Elysian Shadows Team
Elysian Shadows Team
Posts: 10294
Joined: Thu May 20, 2004 2:04 pm
Current Project: Elysian Shadows
Favorite Gaming Platforms: Dreamcast, SNES, NES
Programming Language of Choice: C/++
Location: Studio Vorbis, AL
Contact:

Re: QT GUI Development

Post by Falco Girgis »

It's its own IDE, because QT could be considered it's own C++-based programming language. They have a parser that converts some of the code into C++--I'm fairly certain that there are some things that you do that aren't actually legal in C++ (haven't encountered anything yet with my limited screwing around). So there's an extra pass to the QT parser before it all becomes GCC-compliant.

So yeah, it does need its own IDE. I also heard that it has extensions for development with Visual Studio and Eclipse (and probably Code::Blocks, somehow).

But yeah, I agree. I've been looking into wxWidgets, GDK, and QT--I have decided that QT is the future of multiplatform GUI-based development. Nokia is even developing a Linux-based smartphone that can run QT.
User avatar
dani93
Chaos Rift Newbie
Chaos Rift Newbie
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2009 9:38 am
Location: Austria

Re: QT GUI Development

Post by dani93 »

GyroVorbis wrote:For all of you guys who would like to start developing your own level editor or tools for your game, I would highly recommend you use QT.
That's the reason I started learning Qt :)
With my editor you can lay tiles (also several at once holding the mouse button) on different layers. But it is not really user-friendly if you want make things like "hard" tiles.
GyroVorbis wrote:So yeah, it does need its own IDE.
You can use the Qt-Creator, but you don't have to. I'm using the command line interface.

Just

Code: Select all

$ qmake -project         # creates a .pro file
$ qmake                      # creates a platform dependent makefile
$ make
and it will compile all code files in the current directory (but you can adjust that in the .pro file). On WIndows there is a "special" console for that. It's just cmd.exe with additional parameters for the paths of the libraries and headers.
GyroVorbis wrote:I also heard that it has extensions for development with Visual Studio and Eclipse (and probably Code::Blocks, somehow).
I know that you can use it with Code::Blocks. But you need to adjust all directories and link every single library manually...
Post Reply