Hmm. C++ Standard Libs Don't Exist?

Whether you're a newbie or an experienced programmer, any questions, help, or just talk of any language will be welcomed here.

Moderator: Coders of Rage

User avatar
ibly31
Chaos Rift Junior
Chaos Rift Junior
Posts: 312
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 8:47 pm
Current Project: Like... seven different ones
Favorite Gaming Platforms: Xbox 360, Gamecube
Programming Language of Choice: C++, ObjC
Location: New Jersey.

Hmm. C++ Standard Libs Don't Exist?

Post by ibly31 »

Allright, so I solved a huge problem in which Box2D wasn't being found in my Xcode project. Buuut, when I compile, I get 315 errors saying different things like "cmath - No such file or directory" and "cassert - No such file or directory". Also, it keeps thinking standard syntax like the word "template" are errors. It says that the variable "std" doesn't exist when used in std::something. Does anyone know why this is happening?

Mac OSX 10.5.8
Xcode 3.1.4 (hehe pi)
iPhone OS 3.1.3

Thanks!

Oh, btw. When I compile it without including it, it is error free. When I include it in the interface(.h) file, it errors. When I include it in the implementation(.mm) file, it doesn't error.
Image
Twitter
Website/Tumblr
My Projects

The best thing about UDP jokes is that I don’t care if you get them or not.
User avatar
davidthefat
Chaos Rift Maniac
Chaos Rift Maniac
Posts: 529
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2008 3:51 pm
Current Project: Fully Autonomous Robot
Favorite Gaming Platforms: PS3
Programming Language of Choice: C++
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Hmm. C++ Standard Libs Don't Exist?

Post by davidthefat »

Stop using a Mac, install linux... problem solved
User avatar
Ginto8
ES Beta Backer
ES Beta Backer
Posts: 1064
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2009 4:12 pm
Programming Language of Choice: C/C++, Java

Re: Hmm. C++ Standard Libs Don't Exist?

Post by Ginto8 »

davidthefat wrote:Stop using a Mac, install linux... problem solved
:evil: NO. For the most part, a mac can do anything a linux box can do, and often more. Do not diss on the other *nix systems, when the real one to diss on is windows!
Quit procrastinating and make something awesome.
Ducky wrote:Give a man some wood, he'll be warm for the night. Put him on fire and he'll be warm for the rest of his life.
User avatar
eatcomics
ES Beta Backer
ES Beta Backer
Posts: 2528
Joined: Sat Mar 08, 2008 7:52 pm
Location: Illinois

Re: Hmm. C++ Standard Libs Don't Exist?

Post by eatcomics »

You're probably not looking for the files in the right place... maybe you did "cmath" instead of <cmath>?
Image
User avatar
avansc
Respected Programmer
Respected Programmer
Posts: 1708
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2008 6:29 pm

Re: Hmm. C++ Standard Libs Don't Exist?

Post by avansc »

davidthefat wrote:Stop using a Mac, install linux... problem solved
yes what a solution...dumbass.

i actually recently compiled box2d in xcode, worked fine for me, it uses cmake, so you need to know how to use that.


you need to give some more information on your problem. if you upload the entire project directory i'll be able to help you.
osx C/++ compiler 100 percent is ANSI/ISO C99 and C++x03(what ever is latest), the versions on linux ARE NOT(nothing to major missing).

anyways, your problem does not lie with xcode lacking anything, but more likely a incorrect setting.
Some person, "I have a black belt in karate"
Dad, "Yea well I have a fan belt in street fighting"
User avatar
dandymcgee
ES Beta Backer
ES Beta Backer
Posts: 4709
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2008 3:24 pm
Current Project: https://github.com/dbechrd/RicoTech
Favorite Gaming Platforms: NES, Sega Genesis, PS2, PC
Programming Language of Choice: C
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: Hmm. C++ Standard Libs Don't Exist?

Post by dandymcgee »

Is it only this project? If not, you might want to check the IDE's lib/include paths are correct.
davidthefat wrote:Stop using a Mac, install linux... problem solved
Great advice! What distro do you have installed?
Falco Girgis wrote:It is imperative that I can broadcast my narcissistic commit strings to the Twitter! Tweet Tweet, bitches! :twisted:
User avatar
davidthefat
Chaos Rift Maniac
Chaos Rift Maniac
Posts: 529
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2008 3:51 pm
Current Project: Fully Autonomous Robot
Favorite Gaming Platforms: PS3
Programming Language of Choice: C++
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Hmm. C++ Standard Libs Don't Exist?

Post by davidthefat »

dandymcgee wrote:Is it only this project? If not, you might want to check the IDE's lib/include paths are correct.
davidthefat wrote:Stop using a Mac, install linux... problem solved
Great advice! What distro do you have installed?
Ubuntu, Fedora, Yellow Dog, pretty much it, yes, its all the noob ones :x
User avatar
ibly31
Chaos Rift Junior
Chaos Rift Junior
Posts: 312
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 8:47 pm
Current Project: Like... seven different ones
Favorite Gaming Platforms: Xbox 360, Gamecube
Programming Language of Choice: C++, ObjC
Location: New Jersey.

Re: Hmm. C++ Standard Libs Don't Exist?

Post by ibly31 »

Sigh, didn't mean to start an OS flame war.

Buut, it has noting to do with me including them wrong, "cmath instead of <cmath>" because its Box2D that is including them.

So I uploaded a zip file to my website, not sure if it'll work for you, but just tell me what I'm doing wrong and I'll try to fix it. Please don't bother exploring my site, theres nothing except PHP scripts that interact with databases that'll get screwed up if anyone visits them.

http://www.ibly31.com/Stuff/RGBBuilder.zip
Image
Twitter
Website/Tumblr
My Projects

The best thing about UDP jokes is that I don’t care if you get them or not.
User avatar
avansc
Respected Programmer
Respected Programmer
Posts: 1708
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2008 6:29 pm

Re: Hmm. C++ Standard Libs Don't Exist?

Post by avansc »

ibly31 wrote:Sigh, didn't mean to start an OS flame war.

Buut, it has noting to do with me including them wrong, "cmath instead of <cmath>" because its Box2D that is including them.

So I uploaded a zip file to my website, not sure if it'll work for you, but just tell me what I'm doing wrong and I'll try to fix it. Please don't bother exploring my site, theres nothing except PHP scripts that interact with databases that'll get screwed up if anyone visits them.

http://www.ibly31.com/Stuff/RGBBuilder.zip
i dont have the iphone sdk installed, and probably wont for this. all i can say is that after running cmake on box2d it produced a xcode project file that compiled it fine.
Some person, "I have a black belt in karate"
Dad, "Yea well I have a fan belt in street fighting"
User avatar
ibly31
Chaos Rift Junior
Chaos Rift Junior
Posts: 312
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 8:47 pm
Current Project: Like... seven different ones
Favorite Gaming Platforms: Xbox 360, Gamecube
Programming Language of Choice: C++, ObjC
Location: New Jersey.

Re: Hmm. C++ Standard Libs Don't Exist?

Post by ibly31 »

Cmake? What exactly is that? Sorry if that is a stupid question but I've honestly never heard of cmake before.
Image
Twitter
Website/Tumblr
My Projects

The best thing about UDP jokes is that I don’t care if you get them or not.
User avatar
LeonBlade
Chaos Rift Demigod
Chaos Rift Demigod
Posts: 1314
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 12:22 am
Current Project: Trying to make my first engine in C++ using OGL
Favorite Gaming Platforms: PS3
Programming Language of Choice: C++
Location: Blossvale, NY

Re: Hmm. C++ Standard Libs Don't Exist?

Post by LeonBlade »

Don't worry about any of that shit.
Image

After looking up what to do, I encountered errors I tried re-doing the Box2D shit and with no luck.
Then I saw the whole rename .m to .mm thing.

So guess what dude... lol... you will face-palm pretty hard...
Rename RGBBuilderAppDelegate.m to RGBBuilderAppDelegate.mm and it compiles LOL :lol:
Well, there was an error with world on one of your files but I edited the code to what I thought you wanted and it built just fine :)
There's no place like ~/
User avatar
ibly31
Chaos Rift Junior
Chaos Rift Junior
Posts: 312
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 8:47 pm
Current Project: Like... seven different ones
Favorite Gaming Platforms: Xbox 360, Gamecube
Programming Language of Choice: C++, ObjC
Location: New Jersey.

Re: Hmm. C++ Standard Libs Don't Exist?

Post by ibly31 »

AHHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHHHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHHAHAH!!!!111oneoneone

Wow. Every time I would see the "rename the files to .mm" i would skip over it because I assumed I already did it. Haha well there went 4+ total hours worth of one single character in a filename.

Thanks so much, that saved my entire project. Not like Im going to go anywhere with it(I pretty much have ADD towards programming projects).
Image
Twitter
Website/Tumblr
My Projects

The best thing about UDP jokes is that I don’t care if you get them or not.
User avatar
LeonBlade
Chaos Rift Demigod
Chaos Rift Demigod
Posts: 1314
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 12:22 am
Current Project: Trying to make my first engine in C++ using OGL
Favorite Gaming Platforms: PS3
Programming Language of Choice: C++
Location: Blossvale, NY

Re: Hmm. C++ Standard Libs Don't Exist?

Post by LeonBlade »

No problem man :)
There's no place like ~/
User avatar
Falco Girgis
Elysian Shadows Team
Elysian Shadows Team
Posts: 10294
Joined: Thu May 20, 2004 2:04 pm
Current Project: Elysian Shadows
Favorite Gaming Platforms: Dreamcast, SNES, NES
Programming Language of Choice: C/++
Location: Studio Vorbis, AL
Contact:

Re: Hmm. C++ Standard Libs Don't Exist?

Post by Falco Girgis »

ibly31 wrote:AHHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHHHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHHAHAH!!!!111oneoneone

Wow. Every time I would see the "rename the files to .mm" i would skip over it because I assumed I already did it. Haha well there went 4+ total hours worth of one single character in a filename.

Thanks so much, that saved my entire project. Not like Im going to go anywhere with it(I pretty much have ADD towards programming projects).
Welcome to yet another reason that XCode is a fucking nightmare...
User avatar
avansc
Respected Programmer
Respected Programmer
Posts: 1708
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2008 6:29 pm

Re: Hmm. C++ Standard Libs Don't Exist?

Post by avansc »

GyroVorbis wrote:
ibly31 wrote:AHHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHHHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHHAHAH!!!!111oneoneone

Wow. Every time I would see the "rename the files to .mm" i would skip over it because I assumed I already did it. Haha well there went 4+ total hours worth of one single character in a filename.

Thanks so much, that saved my entire project. Not like Im going to go anywhere with it(I pretty much have ADD towards programming projects).
Welcome to yet another reason that XCode is a fucking nightmare...
again.... picnic. problem in chair, not in computer. using the wrong extension then blaming the IDE/Compiler is just well. its just trying to not take responsibility for a mistake.
Some person, "I have a black belt in karate"
Dad, "Yea well I have a fan belt in street fighting"
Post Reply