[Solved] Code Blocks and Visual Studio

Whether you're a newbie or an experienced programmer, any questions, help, or just talk of any language will be welcomed here.

Moderator: Coders of Rage

Post Reply
User avatar
adikid89
Chaos Rift Cool Newbie
Chaos Rift Cool Newbie
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2010 6:59 am
Current Project: small tiny-mini projects
Favorite Gaming Platforms: PC I guess...
Programming Language of Choice: c++

[Solved] Code Blocks and Visual Studio

Post by adikid89 »

I imported a project from visual studio 2008 express to code::blocks 10.05, and after a lot of changes, I got it to compile... but I can't seem to debug it... how do I fix that? Are there some settings I missed? :shock:
Last edited by adikid89 on Sun Jun 20, 2010 9:13 am, edited 1 time in total.
My first game C++/SDL Yoshi Combat! = http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HQ9mMBEWSZg
==============================================================
Image
User avatar
Milch
Chaos Rift Junior
Chaos Rift Junior
Posts: 241
Joined: Sat Jul 11, 2009 5:55 am
Programming Language of Choice: C++
Location: Austria, Vienna

Re: Code Blocks and Visual Studio

Post by Milch »

Open up your CodeBlocks project
Goto Project->Build Options
On the right side, there should be the different build targets ( like Release, Debug )
Select one of them you want to debug with.
Goto CompilerSettings->CompilerFlags
Check [-g][-Wall]
Uncheck [-s]
Rebuild
Now you should be able to debug your project.
Follow me on twitter!
User avatar
adikid89
Chaos Rift Cool Newbie
Chaos Rift Cool Newbie
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2010 6:59 am
Current Project: small tiny-mini projects
Favorite Gaming Platforms: PC I guess...
Programming Language of Choice: c++

Re: Code Blocks and Visual Studio

Post by adikid89 »

I most of that, [-s] was already unchecked, I checked [-w] and [-wall], but the problem is .. that.. when debugging, the game does not stop at any breakpoint.
My first game C++/SDL Yoshi Combat! = http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HQ9mMBEWSZg
==============================================================
Image
User avatar
Milch
Chaos Rift Junior
Chaos Rift Junior
Posts: 241
Joined: Sat Jul 11, 2009 5:55 am
Programming Language of Choice: C++
Location: Austria, Vienna

Re: Code Blocks and Visual Studio

Post by Milch »

Did you compile with that BuildTarget?
You can choose the BuildTarget on the right side of the rebuild button ( left top area )
And did you rebuild your project?
Follow me on twitter!
User avatar
adikid89
Chaos Rift Cool Newbie
Chaos Rift Cool Newbie
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2010 6:59 am
Current Project: small tiny-mini projects
Favorite Gaming Platforms: PC I guess...
Programming Language of Choice: c++

Re: Code Blocks and Visual Studio

Post by adikid89 »

my bad didn't read your entire post :oops: missed the "rebuild" part. It does work now. Thanks!
My first game C++/SDL Yoshi Combat! = http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HQ9mMBEWSZg
==============================================================
Image
Post Reply