Should I modify SFML???

Anything related in any way to game development as a whole is welcome here. Tell us about your game, grace us with your project, show us your new YouTube video, etc.

Moderator: PC Supremacists

User avatar
xiphirx
Chaos Rift Junior
Chaos Rift Junior
Posts: 324
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:15 pm
Current Project: ******** (Unkown for the time being)
Favorite Gaming Platforms: PC
Programming Language of Choice: C++
Contact:

Re: Should I modify SFML???

Post by xiphirx »

THe Floating Brain wrote:God I feel realy embaressed :oops: :oops: :oops:
GyroVorbis wrote: Honestly, why in fuck's name would you be using doubles? Why would you EVER need that kind of precision? That's only for exact numbers and scientific calculations.

And keep in mind that there is not a 1-to-1 relationship between an IEEE 32-bit single precision float (the variable you know as "float") and an integer. How many bytes are used to represent both? Float = 4 bytes. Integer = 4 bytes. They are literally the same size. They are literally both only capable of holding a permutation of their number of bits.
Damn C++ book lied to me :nono:
N64vSNES wrote:So...You want to fuck with SFML's source because you want to use a double over a float? :shock:
Not any more I did though beacuse I am apparently a terrible programmer :lol:
xiphirx wrote:I'm really confused....
How big are your input values? Do you know what the range of a long is?...
19 digets.
xiphirx wrote:

Code: Select all

//Go The Desired Speed.//
GotoX *= Speed;
GotoY *= Speed;
This is where your values are messed up, I think...
Why do you think that?
xiphirx wrote: Just to note, it looks like you don't have a good grasp on vectors. If you did, you would have probably used SFML's own vector2f class :P
hence...
Okay so I finally think I have a rough idea of vectors and I wrote these functions
Why the hell are you input values 19 digits long? Seriously?
StarCraft II Zerg Strategy, open to all levels of players!

Looking for paid work :< Contact me if you are interested in creating a website, need a web design, or anything else you think I'm capable of :)
User avatar
THe Floating Brain
Chaos Rift Junior
Chaos Rift Junior
Posts: 284
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 7:22 pm
Current Project: RTS possible Third Person shooter engine.
Favorite Gaming Platforms: PC, Wii, Xbox 360, GAME CUBE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Programming Language of Choice: C/C++, Python 3, C#
Location: U.S

Re: Should I modify SFML???

Post by THe Floating Brain »

They are not :|
"Why did we say we were going to say we were going to change the world tomorrow yesterday? Maybe you can." - Myself

ImageImage
User avatar
Ginto8
ES Beta Backer
ES Beta Backer
Posts: 1064
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2009 4:12 pm
Programming Language of Choice: C/C++, Java

Re: Should I modify SFML???

Post by Ginto8 »

measuring precision of binary integers by decimal digits is not only ridiculous, it's pointless. 32 bits. Thats a little over 4 billion combinations, which means up to about 4 billion unsigned, 2 billion to negative 2 billion signed. Don't count binary ints by digits blease.
Quit procrastinating and make something awesome.
Ducky wrote:Give a man some wood, he'll be warm for the night. Put him on fire and he'll be warm for the rest of his life.
User avatar
THe Floating Brain
Chaos Rift Junior
Chaos Rift Junior
Posts: 284
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 7:22 pm
Current Project: RTS possible Third Person shooter engine.
Favorite Gaming Platforms: PC, Wii, Xbox 360, GAME CUBE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Programming Language of Choice: C/C++, Python 3, C#
Location: U.S

Re: Should I modify SFML???

Post by THe Floating Brain »

Srry I ment range of accuracy :roll: ^
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VGO3CGVYi-E <- 0.0
"Why did we say we were going to say we were going to change the world tomorrow yesterday? Maybe you can." - Myself

ImageImage
Post Reply