Page 2 of 8

Re: Questions about loading maps and check out my new project!

Posted: Sun Mar 28, 2010 9:29 pm
by eatcomics
mv2112 wrote:
GroundUpEngine wrote:Just tryed ya Engine, works good. You might want to implement placing the Tile with your mouse once you find a nicer way to load maps ;)
Nice work, great stuff!
I haven't quit figured out how i am going to get the mouse to work right, the map editor and engine don't use grids for the maps so it'll be hard lol. :mrgreen:
That will be hard, I guess you'll just have to be very precise when laying objects, or be able to pick them back up and move them again xD

But this is pretty nice non the less :D

Re: Questions about loading maps and check out my new project!

Posted: Sun Mar 28, 2010 9:36 pm
by mv2112
eatcomics wrote:
mv2112 wrote:
GroundUpEngine wrote:Just tryed ya Engine, works good. You might want to implement placing the Tile with your mouse once you find a nicer way to load maps ;)
Nice work, great stuff!
I haven't quit figured out how i am going to get the mouse to work right, the map editor and engine don't use grids for the maps so it'll be hard lol. :mrgreen:
That will be hard, I guess you'll just have to be very precise when laying objects, or be able to pick them back up and move them again xD

But this is pretty nice non the less :D
I made it work, you can use mouse and toggle between mouse and keyboard.

Re: Questions about loading maps and check out my new project!

Posted: Sun Mar 28, 2010 9:39 pm
by eatcomics
That's a pretty good idea :D

Re: Questions about loading maps and check out my new project!

Posted: Mon Mar 29, 2010 11:00 am
by GroundUpEngine
Nice one :P

Re: Questions about loading maps and check out my new project!

Posted: Mon Mar 29, 2010 9:07 pm
by mv2112
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8-_2OSmMUBk
Update:
Added map layers

Going to add items and inventory system

Re: Questions about loading maps and check out my new project!

Posted: Tue Mar 30, 2010 7:21 am
by GroundUpEngine
Great update man! I 5 starred and favorited. Keep it up! ;)

Re: Questions about loading maps and check out my new project!

Posted: Tue Mar 30, 2010 12:56 pm
by MrDeathNote
Nice work man :)

Re: Questions about loading maps and check out my new project!

Posted: Tue Mar 30, 2010 1:41 pm
by Maevik
Awesome dude! You're making serious progress here. What is left on the agenda for the level editor? What next once the editor is in a state you're pleased with?

Re: Questions about loading maps and check out my new project!

Posted: Tue Mar 30, 2010 2:08 pm
by mv2112
Maevik wrote:Awesome dude! You're making serious progress here. What is left on the agenda for the level editor? What next once the editor is in a state you're pleased with?
Well, after i get an item system working in the engine, i will add an item layer to the editor. I will also add an engine invoker to the editor and an engine file creator so if you want to play the map in the engine, you don't have to edit the engine file it came with. After that i don't know, maybe add a better GUI. I'll add what ever i need as time goes on. Also, i will most likely be adding a player editor either to the map editor or make a separate program. Right now, the engine loads the sprite.txt file and gets all the image locations for sprite animation, because i have to make the sprite.txt files by hand, it will suck when i have a lot more than 4 (walk left, walk right, and stand faced forward and back) animations with a lot of frames. I definitely NEED to make a player editor. I have 2 other friends working on the game with me but they are completely incompetent to programming so i'm the only one actually building the engine. One of my friends is a great artist so i'm gonna have him make some tiles so i wont have to steal them of the internet :mrgreen: . The other friend is coming up the storyline. HOPEFULLY i should have new tiles soon. I have a spring break coming up so i will have ALOT of time to work on the engine :shock2: . I can't wait!

Re: Questions about loading maps and check out my new project!

Posted: Tue Mar 30, 2010 8:35 pm
by eatcomics
Great vid man, you've been very busy, 5 star and sub... I'm on spring break too W00T! I plan on coding and playing pokemon through the whole thing so, yeah, plan on rapping up space invader before tomorrow night... Then I've got a new project, I've already started, so shouldn't be long before I get an update on that :D

/rant but great vid and keep it up! and update frequently cause I have nothing else to do over spring break

Re: Questions about loading maps and check out my new project!

Posted: Wed Mar 31, 2010 6:54 pm
by mv2112
If I embed lua in mi engine, will i need a lua.dll when i distribute the executable?

Re: Questions about loading maps and check out my new project!

Posted: Thu Apr 01, 2010 5:52 am
by GroundUpEngine
Yes, unless you statically link it. Here's why, static links up in compile time whereas dynamic links up in runtime hence the name "dynamic link library" ;)

Re: Questions about loading maps and check out my new project!

Posted: Thu Apr 01, 2010 9:08 am
by mv2112
GroundUpEngine wrote:Yes, unless you statically link it. Here's why, static links up in compile time whereas dynamic links up in runtime hence the name "dynamic link library" ;)
Ugh, im new at this dll crap lol :oops: . How would you statically link? I might be doing it already, i dont know, the engine is running without a lua.dll file already. I dont know if it will on other machines.

Re: Questions about loading maps and check out my new project!

Posted: Thu Apr 01, 2010 12:07 pm
by GroundUpEngine
Hmm, well if it works without the dll, then it must be statically linked by default. btw I'm just guessing ;)

p.s. I prefer to statically link as many libraries I use as possible, so my program's directory isn't full with dll's however the file size is always alot larger.

Re: Questions about loading maps and check out my new project!

Posted: Thu Apr 01, 2010 1:01 pm
by avansc
GroundUpEngine wrote:Hmm, well if it works without the dll, then it must be statically linked by default. btw I'm just guessing ;)

p.s. I prefer to statically link as many libraries I use as possible, so my program's directory isn't full with dll's however the file size is always alot larger.
in windows the exe will look for libraries in 2 places, unless otherwise specified in the code. first it will look in the local directory, then in system32 or whatever its called these days. id first go look to see if the dll is not in that directory either.