Page 3 of 5
Re: phyzills update
Posted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 12:45 pm
by M_D_K
Well I was thinking use
TinyXML for parsing. I've used it in the past and its used in my engine. Its very powerful.
And yes it runs under linux with no problems.
Re: phyzills update
Posted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 12:47 pm
by avansc
M_D_K wrote:Well I was thinking use
TinyXML for parsing. I've used it in the past and its used in my engine. Its very powerful.
And yes it runs under linux with no problems.
ahh good. i didnt intend for the code to be portable. so pretty happy it it.
Re: phyzills update
Posted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 7:20 pm
by M_D_K
Well I blew the dust of my particle code. Right know I'm playing with my code haven't done anything to the phyzillz code yet.
Here is a screenie of my most awesome emitter
- s4.png (24.44 KiB) Viewed 1819 times
Its rendering in 3d not 2d so gotta fix that
Also just some info about the emitter.
- Timer based update
- Statically allocated particle list
- particles expire after X time
- It uses "the best sprite ever"
Oh also its really easy to mess with the force stuff cause all you need to do is mess with the acceleration values on the x and y axis.
Re: phyzills update
Posted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 7:43 pm
by avansc
hehe cute.
Re: phyzills update
Posted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 8:20 pm
by M_D_K
lol
Re: phyzills update
Posted: Wed Dec 03, 2008 12:41 pm
by M_D_K
2D now and it looks alot better.
- s.png (66.24 KiB) Viewed 1797 times
Oh and avansc I still don't get what you mean by "cute"
Re: phyzills update
Posted: Wed Dec 03, 2008 1:49 pm
by avansc
that looks good.
sorry i meant the cute part was about the best sprite ever. made me giggle.
Re: phyzills update
Posted: Wed Dec 03, 2008 2:01 pm
by M_D_K
avansc wrote:that looks good.
sorry i meant the cute part was about the best sprite ever. made me giggle.
Yeh I was poking fun at Jfail thats why it was in quotes
Re: phyzills update
Posted: Wed Dec 03, 2008 2:10 pm
by avansc
M_D_K wrote:avansc wrote:that looks good.
sorry i meant the cute part was about the best sprite ever. made me giggle.
Yeh I was poking fun at Jfail thats why it was in quotes
yeah i know. how far along are you in porting phyzillz
Re: phyzills update
Posted: Wed Dec 03, 2008 2:33 pm
by M_D_K
Well I'm sorta rewriting everything without even looking at your code
I'm making sure everything works first.
Right now I'm working on:
- Force and color controllers
- making it so force controllers are moved by mouse(left click move, right click change radius)
- Level class and in game level creator/editor
What will probably end up happening is a whole mix and match of both code bases
Re: phyzills update
Posted: Wed Dec 03, 2008 2:49 pm
by avansc
M_D_K wrote:Well I'm sorta rewriting everything without even looking at your code
I'm making sure everything works first.
Right now I'm working on:
- Force and color controllers
- making it so force controllers are moved by mouse(left click move, right click change radius)
- Level class and in game level creator/editor
What will probably end up happening is a whole mix and match of both code bases
ive changed my code. left clinking and draging a force makes it move, and right clicking and draging increases or decreases a force.
i made a collecter object, so that there is actually a goal in a level.
right now im working on getting the pixels to be blurry like in the original. but i dont know SDL that well.
Re: phyzills update
Posted: Wed Dec 03, 2008 2:55 pm
by M_D_K
To do the blur in SDL it will be really slow on the CPU. Your best bet is to offset the load onto the GPU. Which will mean OpenGL with either shaders or multitextureing.
Re: phyzills update
Posted: Wed Dec 03, 2008 2:59 pm
by avansc
M_D_K wrote:To do the blur in SDL it will be really slow on the CPU. Your best bet is to offset the load onto the GPU. Which will mean OpenGL with either shaders or multitextureing.
im thinking about just being gay and doing it in XNA, ive see some nice code there with blury affects.
but i dont know.
Re: phyzills update
Posted: Wed Dec 03, 2008 3:44 pm
by M_D_K
well I got forces working
- s4.png (54.32 KiB) Viewed 1775 times
And dude XNA!?
There is a huge bug in it, that is if you use it when you walk down the street all you hear is Dancing Queen
Re: phyzills update
Posted: Wed Dec 03, 2008 3:51 pm
by avansc
M_D_K wrote:well I got forces working
s4.png
And dude XNA!?
There is a huge bug in it, that is if you use it when you walk down the street all you hear is Dancing Queen
hahaha, did you use your own force claculations or mine, mine is very primitive.
well if you dont use microsoft products you are just more manly anyways.