Page 4 of 8

Re: Questions about loading maps and check out my new project!

Posted: Sun Apr 04, 2010 10:21 pm
by mv2112
HA!!! I don't need to restructure my item system!!! It turns out i was making it WAY harder than it needed to be, the problem was that when i would use an item and delete it, the index integer that all the items hold wouldn't update so when the inventory used that index to access object members, if the index was 10 and there was 2 items, i would get a vector subscript out of range! What i probably did that screwed it up before was add in alot of crap to the engine that i though would fix the *health=h; problem. Luckily, i had a one day old backup of the engine stored on mi pc BEFORE i screwed it up! So now, THE ITEM SYSTEM IS UP AND RUNNING! Now all i have to fix is my itouch's white screen of death :shock2:

Re: Questions about loading maps and check out my new project!

Posted: Mon Apr 05, 2010 10:55 am
by GroundUpEngine
Damn unlucky about the iTouch. Well on the upside ya got the item system sorted out, cool beans! :)

Re: Questions about loading maps and check out my new project!

Posted: Mon Apr 05, 2010 8:03 pm
by mv2112
I posted a short update on youtube adding onto my last update :shock:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gYDJTNmw5SA

Re: Questions about loading maps and check out my new project!

Posted: Thu Apr 08, 2010 12:50 am
by mv2112
Major progress!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ly1LSIXOxSc
As of April 8, at 1:49 EST, the quality sucks cuz i just uploaded!

Re: Questions about loading maps and check out my new project!

Posted: Thu Apr 08, 2010 6:19 pm
by eatcomics
Dude that's awesome! Scrolling is awesome, i did a map scrolling demo, and I just thought it was the coolest thing, even though its such a simple concept. Map loading is also a big leap. And now I'm gonna go play mario!

and I tried to leave a comment, but I think youtube screwed up, and didn't post it.... Ugh, they better get that shit fixed soon...

Re: Questions about loading maps and check out my new project!

Posted: Sat Apr 10, 2010 11:46 pm
by mv2112
Ok, since my WINDOWS laptop has been infected with 10 viruses, i've temporarily switches to Ubuntu. I've managed to get my engine to run but i have a few problems...

It doesnt seem to handle strings like windows, either that or the file system thingy (for lack of a better name) doesn't work the same. There will be something like this:

Code: Select all

string temp;
BITMAP * sprite_sheet;
string f_name; //name of bitmap
getline(file,temp);
f_name=temp; //lets say this == hello.bmp
sprite_sheet=load_bitmap(f_name.c_str(),NULL); //This doesnt work;
It wont find the file, however, this works:

Code: Select all

BITMAP * sprite_sheet;
sprite_sheet=load_bitmap("hello.bmp",NULL);
I cant figure it out...

Re: Questions about loading maps and check out my new project!

Posted: Sun Apr 11, 2010 1:59 am
by mv2112
Thank you M_D_K for pointing out a STUPID error in my code and reminding me i was a noob!
:worship: :bow: All Hail M_D_K :bow: :worship:

Thanks to M_D_K i can now compile my engine in LINUX!!!!!

Re: Questions about loading maps and check out my new project!

Posted: Sun Apr 11, 2010 5:08 am
by K-Bal
mv2112 wrote:Thank you M_D_K for pointing out a STUPID error in my code and reminding me i was a noob!
:worship: :bow: All Hail M_D_K :bow: :worship:

Thanks to M_D_K i can now compile my engine in LINUX!!!!!
Maybe you revisit this topic in some years and think: "wtf can someone delete this post?" :lol:

Re: Questions about loading maps and check out my new project!

Posted: Sun Apr 11, 2010 11:35 pm
by Protimus
K-Bal wrote:Maybe you revisit this topic in some years and think: "wtf can someone delete this post?" :lol:
This is one reason why I don't post often ;)

Re: Questions about loading maps and check out my new project!

Posted: Mon Apr 12, 2010 5:43 pm
by mv2112
I finally got toLua++ to compile and work! I now have a question, how do you pass a pointer to a class to lua? Like:

Code: Select all

--lua
ob=GetObject()
ob:do_crap()
Rather than create new instances of classes, or maybe i've got it all wrong...

EDIT:
Got it to work :)

Re: Questions about loading maps and check out my new project!

Posted: Fri Apr 23, 2010 3:25 pm
by mv2112
Since i cant seem to figure out what else to put in my engine, i'm working on a site for it right now.
http://mv2112.podzone.org/
The site isn't guaranteed to be up all the time because i'm hosting it directly from my house. Right now, it just links to my old page, youtube account and a prototype social networking site project that i forgot about.

Also, DO NOT try and access my ftp :mrgreen: . It autobans after 3 incorrect logins and it logs all IPs.

Re: Questions about loading maps and check out my new project!

Posted: Fri Apr 23, 2010 10:42 pm
by dandymcgee
mv2112 wrote: Also, DO NOT try and access my ftp :mrgreen: . It autobans after 3 incorrect logins and it logs all IPs.
Most home users have dynamic IPs which negates both of those. ;)

Re: Questions about loading maps and check out my new project!

Posted: Sat Apr 24, 2010 3:41 pm
by LeonBlade
mv2112 wrote:Since i cant seem to figure out what else to put in my engine, i'm working on a site for it right now.
http://mv2112.podzone.org/
The site isn't guaranteed to be up all the time because i'm hosting it directly from my house. Right now, it just links to my old page, youtube account and a prototype social networking site project that i forgot about.

Also, DO NOT try and access my ftp :mrgreen: . It autobans after 3 incorrect logins and it logs all IPs.
Looks like it's time to use brute-force...

Re: Questions about loading maps and check out my new project!

Posted: Sat Apr 24, 2010 4:55 pm
by Randi
bruteforce wouldn't work, it kicks after 3 tries, unless if you use a proxy server, but you would need an awful lot of them, and it would most likely not worth it to hack into there, now I should probably say this so I don't get into trouble, I don't hack, and look down on people who do hack, there is no reason to do it, unless if you are using your own stuff, for prevention.

Re: Questions about loading maps and check out my new project!

Posted: Sat Apr 24, 2010 5:56 pm
by LeonBlade
Randi wrote:bruteforce wouldn't work, it kicks after 3 tries, unless if you use a proxy server, but you would need an awful lot of them, and it would most likely not worth it to hack into there, now I should probably say this so I don't get into trouble, I don't hack, and look down on people who do hack, there is no reason to do it, unless if you are using your own stuff, for prevention.
...

I was joking of course, and why in the world would you get in trouble?
It's not like you said anything that only hackers would know or something, just common knowledge.