Loading Images in SDL and Scope

Whether you're a newbie or an experienced programmer, any questions, help, or just talk of any language will be welcomed here.

Moderator: Coders of Rage

Maevik
Chaos Rift Junior
Chaos Rift Junior
Current Project: www.keedepictions.com/Pewpew/
Favorite Gaming Platforms: PC
Programming Language of Choice: C++

Loading Images in SDL and Scope

Post by Maevik »

So I'm working my way through Lazy Foo's SDL tutorial and I found something in the code that suprised me. Hopefully someone can clear this up for me.

In his tutorials he usually creates global variables for images, which is fine, but since I am still learning I'd like to stick to OO design as much as possible. He loads all the surfaces with images using a function like:

Code: Select all

bool load_files()
{
    //Load the image
    image = load_image( "x.png" );
	background = load_image( "background.png" );
	message = load_image( "dude.png");
	dots = load_image( "preview.png" );

//If there was an error in loading the image
    if( image == NULL )
    {
        return false;    
    }

//If everything loaded fine
    return true;    
}
So if I wanted to make something similar in OO fasion, creating the variables in the functions in which I will use them, should I just load them after making them instead of creating a seperate function to handle it?

I realize I wouldn't have the function to test whether everything loaded ok, but I guess I could make a function like:

bool didItLoad(SDL_Surface* tester)
{
     if( tester == NULL)
     {
          return false;
     }
     return true;
}
My love is like a Haddoken, it's downright fierce!
programmerinprogress
Chaos Rift Devotee
Chaos Rift Devotee
Current Project: some crazy stuff, i'll tell soon :-)
Programming Language of Choice: C++!

Re: Loading Images in SDL and Scope

Post by programmerinprogress »