Programming/Drawing Projectiles

Whether you're a newbie or an experienced programmer, any questions, help, or just talk of any language will be welcomed here.

Moderator: Coders of Rage

hurstshifter
ES Beta Backer
ES Beta Backer
Favorite Gaming Platforms: SNES
Programming Language of Choice: C/++

Programming/Drawing Projectiles

Post by hurstshifter »

Hey Everyone,

So I'm at work on a Space Invaders clone and I'm at the point where I'd like to start implementing the projectiles(bullets). I've never done something like this before and was hoping I could get a few ideas as how to go about it. I'm not entirely sure if I should store the bullets in a class all their own or just have shoot() be a function in the player class. My biggest problem is wrapping my head around how to create an object and then have it move at a certain speed in one direction each frame until it either a.)hits a block or b.) exits the screen. I setup another keystate in my player::playerinput() function so it checks for the spacebar and then draws a bullet directly in front of the player character, but I'm stuck here. I'll be working on this tonight so I'll post my code if I get anywhere with this.
"Time is an illusion. Lunchtime, doubly so."
http://www.thenerdnight.com
MarauderIIC
Respected Programmer
Respected Programmer

Re: Programming/Drawing Projectiles

Post by MarauderIIC »