Page 1 of 2

I got a blue screen D:

Posted: Sun Jul 26, 2009 10:04 pm
by Pickzell
I have been working with libnds/libgba for a long time now, they support the standard IO (stdio) lib, well I loaded up SDL/DEVCPP today, following LusikkaMage's tutorial and I seemed to have forgotten you can't use the stdio functions in SDL. I ran the program and everything cut to black, and then BOOM blue screen. FUCK.

Re: I got a blue screen D:

Posted: Mon Jul 27, 2009 5:28 am
by programmerinprogress
I've gotten a BSOD from loading SDL before, I actually know how to trigger one pretty easily :lol:

Although I had this problem in Code::blocks, not DevCPP, when I try and make a console application, then init SDL and then call cin.get(), I get a BSOD, don't ask me why, but it happens, so perhaps you could try changing your application to a GUI application, I really don't know how to do this in DevCPP after using Code::Blocks for so long, but that could be your problem.

This has happened more than once, right?

Re: I got a blue screen D:

Posted: Mon Jul 27, 2009 12:15 pm
by Pickzell
No Just once, and I got it from calling cin.get(), like you said.
The GUI is actually pretty easy to set, project options - Win32 GUI or something like that.

Re: I got a blue screen D:

Posted: Mon Jul 27, 2009 6:42 pm
by MarauderIIC
You have a console window visible? For cin, it'd have to be a console app.

Re: I got a blue screen D:

Posted: Wed Aug 05, 2009 7:21 pm
by derbon
well. that seems like your interested in the ds and gba.

Well, i can probably explain why the screen is black before "BOOM",
when you run a program it might take while to think and then put stuff in the window. SO ITS LIKE
BLACK..1.5 seconds...BOOM all the stuff in your game comes up in your window.
so my sugestion is that you "clean everything up", i think :bow: LusikkaMage :bow: made the tutorial on "cleaning up" for SDL

now the blue.. screeeeeen, *snffl* is there anything in your source that could make it blue, or maybe its just the library you have, or is it a background image......

Guten Noche Auf Whietiesian

Re: I got a blue screen D:

Posted: Fri Aug 07, 2009 2:35 pm
by davidthefat
So exactly what did you do to get BSOD? I wanna do that... Like display text that says "Haha! I Screwed you over" wait 3000 then BOOM BSOD

Re: I got a blue screen D:

Posted: Tue Aug 11, 2009 2:47 pm
by tendencydriven
davidthefat wrote:So exactly what did you do to get BSOD? I wanna do that... Like display text that says "Haha! I Screwed you over" wait 3000 then BOOM BSOD
That program would be so awesome, I think I would use it on a regular basis.

Re: I got a blue screen D:

Posted: Tue Aug 11, 2009 3:40 pm
by dandymcgee
tendencydriven wrote:
davidthefat wrote:So exactly what did you do to get BSOD? I wanna do that... Like display text that says "Haha! I Screwed you over" wait 3000 then BOOM BSOD
That program would be so awesome, I think I would use it on a regular basis.
Lol, it's not that hard to do. Dunno why you'd want to BSOD on purpose though.

Re: I got a blue screen D:

Posted: Tue Aug 11, 2009 3:42 pm
by gordon
dandymcgee wrote: Lol, it's not that hard to do. Dunno why you'd want to BSOD on purpose though.
It is when you don't run windows....

Re: I got a blue screen D:

Posted: Tue Aug 11, 2009 3:44 pm
by dandymcgee
gordon wrote:
dandymcgee wrote: Lol, it's not that hard to do. Dunno why you'd want to BSOD on purpose though.
It is when you don't run windows....
No it's not.. installing Windows only takes 30-40 mins. Crashing it takes even less (since you can open command prompt halfway through). :lol:

Re: I got a blue screen D:

Posted: Sat Aug 15, 2009 7:56 am
by Sanshin77
dandymcgee wrote:
gordon wrote:
dandymcgee wrote: Lol, it's not that hard to do. Dunno why you'd want to BSOD on purpose though.
It is when you don't run windows....
No it's not.. installing Windows only takes 30-40 mins. Crashing it takes even less (since you can open command prompt halfway through). :lol:
What's the fastest way to crash windows from command prompt then :P ?

Re: I got a blue screen D:

Posted: Sat Aug 15, 2009 12:25 pm
by dandymcgee
Sanshin77 wrote:
dandymcgee wrote:
gordon wrote:
dandymcgee wrote: Lol, it's not that hard to do. Dunno why you'd want to BSOD on purpose though.
It is when you don't run windows....
No it's not.. installing Windows only takes 30-40 mins. Crashing it takes even less (since you can open command prompt halfway through). :lol:
What's the fastest way to crash windows from command prompt then :P ?
cd C:\
del /F /S /Q *.*

Re: I got a blue screen D:

Posted: Sat Aug 15, 2009 4:01 pm
by Sanshin77
dandymcgee wrote:
Sanshin77 wrote:
dandymcgee wrote:
gordon wrote:
dandymcgee wrote: Lol, it's not that hard to do. Dunno why you'd want to BSOD on purpose though.
It is when you don't run windows....
No it's not.. installing Windows only takes 30-40 mins. Crashing it takes even less (since you can open command prompt halfway through). :lol:
What's the fastest way to crash windows from command prompt then :P ?
cd C:\
del /F /S /Q *.*
tried it on my old machine, access denied. How do I get admin access in cmd? I think its sudo login or smthing on OSX(which is what I usually use)

Re: I got a blue screen D:

Posted: Sat Aug 15, 2009 5:34 pm
by dandymcgee
Sanshin77 wrote: tried it on my old machine, access denied. How do I get admin access in cmd? I think its sudo login or smthing on OSX(which is what I usually use)
You have to be logged in as an administrator. If you don't have access to an admin account you probably shouldn't be wiping the hard drive anyways. ;)
I have no clue how to run cmd as admin without just relogging with an admin account.

Since you can't (usually) delete files being used by the OS in Windows, you probably won't get any error until you reboot (or try to open an app you deleted). I doubt you'll generate a blue screen from this though, more likely you'll get "NTLDR is missing or corrupt."

Re: I got a blue screen D:

Posted: Wed Aug 19, 2009 1:15 pm
by dani93
I also had a SDL-program that caused a bluescreen when it was started outside the IDE.
I think I linked Mingw-DLLs (not libs ^^) with VS :lol:
Programming on Windows (especially with VS) is so complicated... just

Code: Select all

g++ -o executeable *.h *.cpp -Wall `sdl-config --cflags --libs` -lSDL_ttf -lSDL_net -lSDL_image
and everything works fine on other operating systems :)