Page 1 of 1

Getting Allegro Set Up

Posted: Mon Nov 02, 2009 4:26 pm
by Pennywise
Hi...
Sorry that I am posting quite frequently. I will try to keep my posts to a minimum next time.

I have read my C++ book and wanting to install Allegro.
I already got SDL but the way I did that was download files and extract them and put them on my compiler.
With Allegro do I have to do the same thing?
I installed the Allegro Dev Pack for Dev C++ compiler and was wondering if that was the way to go.
Or did I have to get Allegro the same way I got SDL, extract files and put them in directories and stuff...

Thanks

Re: Getting Allegro Set Up

Posted: Mon Nov 02, 2009 4:31 pm
by Bakkon

Re: Getting Allegro Set Up

Posted: Tue Nov 03, 2009 1:58 am
by Pennywise
Thanks Bakkon. But the sound card on my computer don't work, so I can't here anything on youtube.

Re: Getting Allegro Set Up

Posted: Tue Nov 03, 2009 8:27 am
by RyanPridgeon
In future let us know what compiler/IDE you're using. Anyway...
This is what you do. (This is from my experience with GCC, but I assume its the same for other compilers)

First, get the version appropriate for your compiler. Then your library will have headers, libs and DLLs. You take the headers, and paste them in your compiler's include directory.

Then you take the lib files (.a/.o/.la), and paste them in your compiler's lib directory.

Now the DLL's are what the program uses when it's run. This means that anyone who wants to run your program needs these. So you can either paste them in the same folder as your project, or in your WINDOWS/System32 folder.

Now just make a project, and in your options for your IDE, you have to link the .lib files. You do this in your IDE's settings or whatever (like i said, we dont know what compiler you're using or anything)

Then you're set to start using the library in your project.

Re: Getting Allegro Set Up

Posted: Tue Nov 03, 2009 3:12 pm
by Pennywise
OK.
I got Allegro set up and it's working fine. Thanks for your help.
RyanPridgeon wrote:In future let us know what compiler/IDE you're using.
I said on my earlier post I was using the Dev C++ Compiler.

Re: Getting Allegro Set Up

Posted: Wed Nov 04, 2009 6:17 am
by RyanPridgeon
Pennywise wrote:OK.
I got Allegro set up and it's working fine. Thanks for your help.
RyanPridgeon wrote:In future let us know what compiler/IDE you're using.
I said on my earlier post I was using the Dev C++ Compiler.
Ah, sorry I didn't see that.

Btw Dev C++ is an IDE, your compiler is probably GNU GCC/G++

Re: Getting Allegro Set Up

Posted: Wed Nov 04, 2009 6:09 pm
by Kros
RyanPridgeon wrote:Btw Dev C++ is an IDE, your compiler is probably GNU GCC/G++
By the way, the '/' in your comment about 'IDE/Compiler' very often means "or", you probably didn't realize you weren't asking for both.

Re: Getting Allegro Set Up

Posted: Thu Nov 05, 2009 5:54 pm
by Moosader
Pennywise wrote:Thanks Bakkon. But the sound card on my computer don't work, so I can't here anything on youtube.
For future reference, I have written versions of most of my tutorials on my website. :P

Re: Getting Allegro Set Up

Posted: Sat Nov 07, 2009 10:38 am
by Pennywise
Oh yeah
I didn't think before I posted. Sorry about that.