Page 1 of 1
Omitting Curly Brace In Do-While Statement
Posted: Sun Dec 27, 2009 5:42 am
by Master Jake
Is it OK to write single-statemented do whiles without the curly brace (like I do for my fors, ifs, whiles, etc.).
Example:
Code: Select all
do
{
Something();
}
while (something);
As....
Code: Select all
do
Something();
while (something);
Re: Omitting Curly Brace In Do-While Statement
Posted: Sun Dec 27, 2009 7:07 am
by newbie1234
Yeah, I guess you could do that in Code::Blocks in Ubuntu:
Code: Select all
#include <iostream>
#include <cstdio>
class SomeClass {
bool quit;
public:
SomeClass();
void Something();
bool getQuit();
};
SomeClass::SomeClass()
{
quit = false;
}
void SomeClass::Something() {
printf("strange");
}
bool SomeClass::getQuit() {
return quit;
}
SomeClass SomeClass1;
int main()
{
do
SomeClass1.Something();
while (!SomeClass1.getQuit());
}
Re: Omitting Curly Brace In Do-While Statement
Posted: Sun Dec 27, 2009 8:27 am
by RyanPridgeon
It will work in other compilers and operating systems as well.
Re: Omitting Curly Brace In Do-While Statement
Posted: Sun Dec 27, 2009 10:18 am
by Falco Girgis
It's just as fine as doing:
Some programmers don't like that and
always use curly braces for one-liners, but I think that's just being anal. If you asked me, I would say it's perfectly legit.
Re: Omitting Curly Brace In Do-While Statement
Posted: Sun Dec 27, 2009 2:04 pm
by K-Bal
I always use braces. I once unconsciously commented out the body of an if-statement and asked myself for some hours why nothing was working.
Re: Omitting Curly Brace In Do-While Statement
Posted: Sun Dec 27, 2009 2:41 pm
by GroundUpEngine
GyroVorbis wrote:It's just as fine as doing:
Some programmers don't like that and
always use curly braces for one-liners, but I think that's just being anal. If you asked me, I would say it's perfectly legit.
Agreed
Re: Omitting Curly Brace In Do-While Statement
Posted: Sun Dec 27, 2009 6:55 pm
by XianForce
GyroVorbis wrote:It's just as fine as doing:
Some programmers don't like that and
always use curly braces for one-liners, but I think that's just being anal. If you asked me, I would say it's perfectly legit.
Yeah, it's legit, but I personally put braces just because it's easier for me to see a problem.
Re: Omitting Curly Brace In Do-While Statement
Posted: Sun Dec 27, 2009 10:10 pm
by hurstshifter
XianForce wrote:GyroVorbis wrote:It's just as fine as doing:
Some programmers don't like that and
always use curly braces for one-liners, but I think that's just being anal. If you asked me, I would say it's perfectly legit.
Yeah, it's legit, but I personally put braces just because it's easier for me to see a problem.
This
Re: Omitting Curly Brace In Do-While Statement
Posted: Mon Dec 28, 2009 12:17 pm
by dandymcgee
hurstshifter wrote:XianForce wrote:GyroVorbis wrote:It's just as fine as doing:
Some programmers don't like that and
always use curly braces for one-liners, but I think that's just being anal. If you asked me, I would say it's perfectly legit.
Yeah, it's legit, but I personally put braces just because it's easier for me to see a problem.
This
I do this as well. I often add lines of debug code to my conditionals, and that never ends well if you didn't use braces for the one-liner. It also improves readability (for me).
Re: Omitting Curly Brace In Do-While Statement
Posted: Mon Dec 28, 2009 5:55 pm
by short
hurstshifter wrote:XianForce wrote:GyroVorbis wrote:It's just as fine as doing:
Some programmers don't like that and
always use curly braces for one-liners, but I think that's just being anal. If you asked me, I would say it's perfectly legit.
Yeah, it's legit, but I personally put braces just because it's easier for me to see a problem.
This
This.
Re: Omitting Curly Brace In Do-While Statement
Posted: Tue Dec 29, 2009 8:58 am
by Master Jake
Thanks everyone.
By the way, newbie1234, what's all this about a "must be" object orientation. The language doesn't force me to use it so why should I when I don't need to?
Re: Omitting Curly Brace In Do-While Statement
Posted: Tue Dec 29, 2009 10:35 am
by newbie1234
Master Jake wrote:Thanks everyone.
By the way, newbie1234, what's all this about a "must be" object orientation. The language doesn't force me to use it so why should I when I don't need to?
I'm just being a dick.
Re: Omitting Curly Brace In Do-While Statement
Posted: Mon Jan 04, 2010 11:17 am
by Ginto8
GyroVorbis wrote:It's just as fine as doing:
Some programmers don't like that and
always use curly braces for one-liners, but I think that's just being anal. If you asked me, I would say it's perfectly legit.
I use something similar, but it helps me differentiate the condition and action:
Re: Omitting Curly Brace In Do-While Statement
Posted: Mon Jan 04, 2010 11:54 am
by Master Jake
I use that method too, but I also put an additional space between the if, else-if, and else statements like:
Code: Select all
if (conidition)
result;
else if (condition)
result;
else
result;
Just helps me.