Page 1 of 2
Using SDL with Dev-C++ 5
Posted: Tue Dec 07, 2004 6:53 pm
by dinosaur sniper
Can anyone tell me how to do it?
A place to get the SDL stuff, and how to make it work with Dev.
Posted: Tue Dec 07, 2004 6:58 pm
by Falco Girgis
JSL, help the poor lad. He isn't just another know-nothing n00b. He's seriously knowledgable.
Using SDL with Dev-C++ 5
Posted: Tue Dec 07, 2004 8:02 pm
by MarauderIIC
I can't recall where to get the SDL libraries. But you have to link sdl.lib and sdlmain.lib if I recall correctly.
sdl homepage
sdl "dev-c++" -
particularly (seems as if it may be date though)
Posted: Tue Dec 07, 2004 9:28 pm
by dinosaur sniper
Actually, I had found the SDL libraries and stuff already, I was just making sure there wasn't some perfect site to get updated SDL stuff. I guess what I have is fine. I don't really understand where I link the .libs. In the compiler options or the project options?
Posted: Tue Dec 07, 2004 10:45 pm
by Falco Girgis
I think it'd be in Project Options, not compiler.
MarauderIIC and I don't settle for Dev-C++, so we won't be of much use to you.
JSL checks the forums once a day when he's at school. By tomorrow, he'll have an explanation.
He'd better, or this is his penis:
Any questions?
Posted: Wed Dec 08, 2004 7:24 am
by JS Lemming
Gah! You sick freak.
Ok, yeah, go to project options. I believe the first text box thing is where you type in the -lib thingys. I'm at skoo now so I can't check. Also, you have made a fine choice using Dev-C++, you don't have to settle for Vc++6's stupid required .dll's. If that doesn't work, tell me and I'll try at home.
Posted: Wed Dec 08, 2004 6:14 pm
by dinosaur sniper
Okay, I linked the SDL.a and SDLmain.a in the project options. It got rid of most the errors, but there is one left.
File Message
C:\Dev-Cpp\Makefile.win [Build Error] [testcpp.o] Error 1
Posted: Thu Dec 09, 2004 6:44 am
by Falco Girgis
.a? It was supposed to be .lib. Also, don't forget you need to:
Posted: Thu Dec 09, 2004 7:33 am
by JS Lemming
I've never heard of that kind of build error..... what did you type in that lib box?
Posted: Thu Dec 09, 2004 9:57 pm
by MarauderIIC
.a? Linux libraries? No.. those are .so... Find .libs.
Posted: Sat Dec 11, 2004 11:20 am
by dinosaur sniper
I found a tutorial and got it working. Turns out .a files work as libraries.
Posted: Sat Dec 11, 2004 1:07 pm
by MarauderIIC
I wrote:Find .libs.
dinosaur sniper wrote:Turns out .a files work as libraries.
Such a good use of webspace I know :)
Posted: Sat Dec 11, 2004 7:39 pm
by Falco Girgis
MarauderIIC wrote:I wrote:Find .libs.
dinosaur sniper wrote:Turns out .a files work as libraries.
Such a good use of webspace I know
Posted: Sat Feb 19, 2005 3:18 pm
by Ryu Hayabusa
try
#include <sdl/sdl.h>
Posted: Sat Feb 19, 2005 3:32 pm
by JS Lemming
Heh Heh, I don't think dinosaur sniper is around anymore. This topic is ancient. He probably won't see that.