Page 1 of 1

buying a mac, question about xcode

Posted: Sun Apr 18, 2010 3:23 pm
by short
Hey guys, so for the past few years my laptop's screen has been broken and I've had it happily plugged into a monitor where I use visual studio c++ for all my programming.

I recently decided I was tired of not having a portable laptop, so I am buying a macbook (13inch, light as fuck, etc) and from everything I have read, you can't get visual studio c++ on the mac. Okay, xcode looks pretty cool.

My question: I'm currently working on a project using c++, opengl, and sfml (sfml for input, window handling, events) and opengl for graphics. My question is I have an external hdd that holds my tortoise svn repository for all my projects, and I would love to be able to switch between using my win7 laptop and mac laptop whenever I wanted.

Theoretical situation: finish coding something on my win7 laptop, have to leave to school. Commit my changes using tortoiseSVN to my external then go off to school/work/outside with the mac and hdd. When I get there (where I am going) plug in my hdd to the mac, checkout a folder (it looks like this could be a good alternative for tortoiseSVN, anyone know specifically? http://scplugin.tigris.org/ ) and hop right into xcode and start up.

SFML and opengl are both supposed to be multi-platform, so I feel like this situation I have described is reasonable. Does anyone with experience with this have any insight they can offer me? I would really be annoyed if there was some reason where I couldn't interchange between the two. The only thing I can think of aside from is that the scplugin might not be able to interface directly with the tortoiseSVN repository.

Re: buying a mac, question about xcode

Posted: Sun Apr 18, 2010 6:09 pm
by dandymcgee
At least half of the guys in my software engineering class have mac books. They dual boot Win7 to accommodate their programming needs. I'd recommend this if you have any way of getting another license.

Re: buying a mac, question about xcode

Posted: Sun Apr 18, 2010 10:17 pm
by avansc
Yes, that situation is completely possible, and viable.

xcode has SVN repo stuffs built in, its a bit tricky to master, but possible (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zpMPTibWQdY)
personally if you are comfortable with the command line id suggest doing that.

gl and sfml both have frameworks for osx (OpenGL.framework comes standard with osx), so id just have 2 separate project files, that both share the same source.
Once you get your mac id be happy to help you with teamview or something like that.

edit: you can also dual (multi) boot your mac to run windows whatever, and run visual studio natively, Id def recommend that but i would also advise to stick with osx and xcode as much as you can, osx is a great OS, and i guarantee you will love it, and Xcode is a lovely IDE and will be able to do anything and more than you would need.

Re: buying a mac, question about xcode

Posted: Mon Apr 19, 2010 4:11 pm
by eatcomics
if I could afford a mac, I would definately get one... but I can't, although I did just get win7 on my laptop, and its orgasmic :D

Re: buying a mac, question about xcode

Posted: Sat Apr 24, 2010 2:19 am
by short
ok, I got my mac a few days ago and I've been trying to figure out how to get xcode. I'm sorry if this is rediculous, but it seems like the only way I can download it is to enroll into the apple developer program which is supposedly 99$/year. I just want the IDE, am I missing something? I definitely have an appleID already.

I feel a little rediculous asking this, but this OS is way different then anything I am used too but I like :)

Thanks

edit: Never mind, I found it on the OS install CD.

Re: buying a mac, question about xcode

Posted: Wed Apr 28, 2010 8:04 pm
by short
follow up question, code sense.

Well, 2 questions.

First question, it seems that non-explicitely declared namespaces code-sense seems to fail. For example, in using SFML, the following code:

Code: Select all

// left mouse button pressed
		if((e_Events.Type == sf::Event::MouseButtonPressed) && (e_Events.Key.Code == sf::Mouse::Left))
when typing this code in visual studio c++ I would type sf:: and the intellisense would pop up. In xcode I type in sf:: and press escape, nothing pops up.

Do you have any idea as to why this is?

I've done some research on it, but the only thing I can find is this: http://www.openradar.appspot.com/7338181

I tried going through the suggested steps, including rebuilding the index w/static analyzer on and off and still nothing. Thanks


2nd question: I really like having the intellisense pop up automatically in visual studio 2008, in xcode I can get it to pop up by pressing esc. Do you know if it is possible to make this automatic??

Re: buying a mac, question about xcode

Posted: Wed Apr 28, 2010 8:22 pm
by ibly31
BTW all you need is a free account with the developer.apple.com/ site to get access to XCode. Its all in the downloads section

Re: buying a mac, question about xcode

Posted: Wed Apr 28, 2010 10:19 pm
by Trask
http://code.google.com/p/xcode-auto-assistant/ ---> Would this help? I don't have a Mac nor have I ever used xCode.

Re: buying a mac, question about xcode

Posted: Wed Apr 28, 2010 11:20 pm
by short
Trask wrote:http://code.google.com/p/xcode-auto-assistant/ ---> Would this help? I don't have a Mac nor have I ever used xCode.

I saw this when I was searching for a solution earlier, I think I'll give it a try now. I'll post back.

Re: buying a mac, question about xcode

Posted: Thu Apr 29, 2010 5:21 am
by LeonBlade
I have the same problems actually, still don't know what to do :(

Re: buying a mac, question about xcode

Posted: Thu Apr 29, 2010 9:34 am
by short
The plugin is good, it solves the instantaneous problem, but not the problem for the static namespace not working in code sense.

Re: buying a mac, question about xcode

Posted: Thu Apr 29, 2010 12:36 pm
by LeonBlade
short wrote:The plugin is good, it solves the instantaneous problem, but not the problem for the static namespace not working in code sense.
Yeah, that's the problem I have. In fact, it's the same problem you have with doing it with SFMLL :lol:
I'm not sure why it doesn't work... I would use another IDE, but I can't find anything I like better than Xcode.

Let me know if you find anything, I'll definitely let you know if I find something.

Re: buying a mac, question about xcode

Posted: Thu Apr 29, 2010 3:48 pm
by short
LeonBlade wrote: Yeah, that's the problem I have. In fact, it's the same problem you have with doing it with SFMLL :lol:
I'm not sure why it doesn't work... I would use another IDE, but I can't find anything I like better than Xcode.

Let me know if you find anything, I'll definitely let you know if I find something.
just cause I want to keep this bumped...

Same here, I've taken Avansc's advice and I really enjoy the IDE, I just need to get used to it. I just have to get used to all the different keyboard shortcuts now.

Maybe when this weekend rolls around I can find a way to explicitly link SFML, but even so that doesn't solve the problem.

edit: We should get any xcode updates that come out just through apple's software update, correct? I believe that's true, but someone said you had to pay and someone said you didn't. It's like nobody on the internet can get their facts straight..

Re: buying a mac, question about xcode

Posted: Thu Apr 29, 2010 4:44 pm
by LeonBlade
short wrote:
LeonBlade wrote: Yeah, that's the problem I have. In fact, it's the same problem you have with doing it with SFMLL :lol:
I'm not sure why it doesn't work... I would use another IDE, but I can't find anything I like better than Xcode.

Let me know if you find anything, I'll definitely let you know if I find something.
just cause I want to keep this bumped...

Same here, I've taken Avansc's advice and I really enjoy the IDE, I just need to get used to it. I just have to get used to all the different keyboard shortcuts now.

Maybe when this weekend rolls around I can find a way to explicitly link SFML, but even so that doesn't solve the problem.

edit: We should get any xcode updates that come out just through apple's software update, correct? I believe that's true, but someone said you had to pay and someone said you didn't. It's like nobody on the internet can get their facts straight..
Xcode has always been free, don't worry about that.
And yes, however Xcode doesn't get updates frequent like most programmers do.
There is a Apple programming event called WWDC maybe they'll have a new version of Xcode? Maybe not?

I don't know... :roll: