Page 1 of 1
VC++ 2010
Posted: Fri May 14, 2010 2:58 pm
by Scrye
I need some information or some advice -
I've setup and installed Visual C++ 2010, because it's nice as hell, I've set up my directories via Project Properties (they've moved it), and I've set up my Linker to what it's supposed to be.
I've done this in Visual C++ 2008, and it works. And I'm trying to do this with Lua scripting, so that being said (setting everything up), I made my script, and I've compiled it with the Lua scripting compiler, it worked fine in the dialog box. Although when I try this with my VC++ 2010 (again, everything is correct), it shows whatever I've programmed it to do in C++, but not what I've made it do in Lua
Any ideas? Am I doing something wrong?
And my CPP file is correct, and the script is in the same directory, so don't ask LOLZ
Re: VC++ 2010
Posted: Fri May 14, 2010 3:04 pm
by mv2112
Scrye wrote:I need some information or some advice -
I've setup and installed Visual C++ 2010, because it's nice as hell, I've set up my directories via Project Properties (they've moved it), and I've set up my Linker to what it's supposed to be.
I've done this in Visual C++ 2008, and it works. And I'm trying to do this with Lua scripting, so that being said (setting everything up), I made my script, and I've compiled it with the Lua scripting compiler, it worked fine in the dialog box. Although when I try this with my VC++ 2010 (again, everything is correct), it shows whatever I've programmed it to do in C++, but not what I've made it do in Lua
Any ideas? Am I doing something wrong?
And my CPP file is correct, and the script is in the same directory, so don't ask LOLZ
I HATE VS2010
VS2008 FTW
I would suggest not using VS 2010
Re: VC++ 2010
Posted: Fri May 14, 2010 3:09 pm
by Scrye
mv2112 wrote:Scrye wrote:I need some information or some advice -
I've setup and installed Visual C++ 2010, because it's nice as hell, I've set up my directories via Project Properties (they've moved it), and I've set up my Linker to what it's supposed to be.
I've done this in Visual C++ 2008, and it works. And I'm trying to do this with Lua scripting, so that being said (setting everything up), I made my script, and I've compiled it with the Lua scripting compiler, it worked fine in the dialog box. Although when I try this with my VC++ 2010 (again, everything is correct), it shows whatever I've programmed it to do in C++, but not what I've made it do in Lua
Any ideas? Am I doing something wrong?
And my CPP file is correct, and the script is in the same directory, so don't ask LOLZ
I HATE VS2010
VS2008 FTW
I would suggest not using VS 2010
I didn't ask for a suggestion, I asked for an answer to my question.
Thus meaning your helping 0%
Edit:
Sorry if I sound like a dick, your post just didn't help me
Re: VC++ 2010
Posted: Fri May 14, 2010 5:36 pm
by Scrye
*Request Lock*
Never mind, I found out what went wrong..and it was so easy to fix, I should of checked twice before posting
Re: VC++ 2010
Posted: Fri May 14, 2010 11:57 pm
by eatcomics
Yeah that wasn't dickish, and I personally really like vc++ 2010 :D
Re: VC++ 2010
Posted: Sun May 16, 2010 5:40 am
by MrDeathNote
eatcomics wrote:Yeah that wasn't dickish, and I personally really like vc++ 2010 :D
Me too, I don't see why everyones been hating on it I havent had one problem with it yet.
Re: VC++ 2010
Posted: Sun May 16, 2010 8:55 am
by Live-Dimension
Is there a way for VS 2010 and VS 2008 to co-exist? So when I open a VS 2008 project it opens in VS 2008 instead of VS 2010?
Re: VC++ 2010
Posted: Sun May 16, 2010 10:25 am
by MrDeathNote
Live-Dimension wrote:Is there a way for VS 2010 and VS 2008 to co-exist? So when I open a VS 2008 project it opens in VS 2008 instead of VS 2010?
Yea, if you created a project in VS2008 it should still open in VS2008, to run a VS2008 project in VS2010 it has to be converted. I still use both, any project that i make in VS2008 gets opened in it.
Re: VC++ 2010
Posted: Sun May 16, 2010 1:50 pm
by lotios611
MrDeathNote wrote:eatcomics wrote:Yeah that wasn't dickish, and I personally really like vc++ 2010 :D
Me too, I don't see why everyones been hating on it I havent had one problem with it yet.
Have you guys tried it with SFML? I had so many problems setting it up (at least when VC++2010 was in beta) until finally I moved back to 2008.
Re: VC++ 2010
Posted: Sun May 16, 2010 6:07 pm
by Live-Dimension
MrDeathNote wrote:Live-Dimension wrote:Is there a way for VS 2010 and VS 2008 to co-exist? So when I open a VS 2008 project it opens in VS 2008 instead of VS 2010?
Yea, if you created a project in VS2008 it should still open in VS2008, to run a VS2008 project in VS2010 it has to be converted. I still use both, any project that i make in VS2008 gets opened in it.
That's awesome. I thought it would, but I wanted to make sure so if I get it I can use it.
edit:
lotios611 wrote:Have you guys tried it with SFML? I had so many problems setting it up (at least when VC++2010 was in beta) until finally I moved back to 2008.
http://elysianshadows.com/phpBB3/viewto ... f=6&t=4916
Re: VC++ 2010
Posted: Mon May 17, 2010 4:18 pm
by eatcomics
PWN.. but seriously big thanks for that live dimension :D
I'm sure lots of us can use that, I know I would like to try some SFML but I haven't really gotten around to it, maybe after the moosader competition I don't think I'll be doing the second one so I'll have plenty of time :D
Re: VC++ 2010
Posted: Sun May 30, 2010 5:02 pm
by Joe118
OK so what was the solution? I'm trying to compile lua514 with VC++ 2010 also, and getting nowhere. I need to make a DLL so I can link with luabridge for .NET access.
Any and all help appreciated!
--Joe