Page 1 of 1

SFML VS 2010 Binaries

Posted: Sun May 16, 2010 7:29 pm
by Live-Dimension
SFML was never going to work for VS 2010 because the binary files are for VS 2008, and are incompatible with VS 2010. Because I use SFML and others on this forum do, I got the source for SFML and recompiled in VS 2010.

I have compiled Static and Dynamic, Debug and Release builds, but be warned. I haven't tested these except a quick 2 second test of static debug only. Consider these as a "beta" product and as such DO NOT USE THIS FOR FINAL RELEASES. This is probably illegal in some obscure part of the licence, but whatever. If I get a notice I'll simply list how to compile for VS 2010. Do not ask for support on the SFML forums or here about linking issues or crashes as it's likely to be some issue with VS 2010 + SFML I don't see why there would be further issues, but I am no expert on VS libraries/SFML internals. SFML shouldn't take too long to support VS 2010 as there is very little to do to support it, but it probably won't be until the next release.

DO NOT USE THESE UNLESS YOU KNOW WHAT YOU ARE DOING. USE VS 2008 INSTEAD AND WAIT.
Get VS 2010 SFML BETA binary files here.

Note that any other projects that can't be compiled because they depend on binaries compiled for VS 2008 should theoretically be able to compile with VS 2010 as long as you have the source. Of course, the same issues arise as listed above.

Re: SFML VS 2010 Binaries

Posted: Sun May 16, 2010 10:11 pm
by davidthefat
Just ditch VS and get CodeBlocks? :lol: Problem solved

Re: SFML VS 2010 Binaries

Posted: Mon May 17, 2010 12:18 am
by Bakkon
Just started playing with SFML about an hour ago. Fuuuck, why have I been such a little SDL gay baby for so long? This shit owns.

Re: SFML VS 2010 Binaries

Posted: Mon May 17, 2010 12:26 am
by Live-Dimension
Bakkon wrote:Just started playing with SFML about an hour ago. Fuuuck, why have I been such a little SDL gay baby for so long? This shit owns.
:lol:
SFML is virtually a 2D OpenGL, so it inherits its power, speed, and even a simplified shader language.

Re: SFML VS 2010 Binaries

Posted: Mon May 17, 2010 2:44 am
by short
Live-Dimension wrote: :lol:
SFML is virtually a 2D OpenGL, so it inherits its power, speed, and even a simplified shader language.
Do tell, I have just been using sfml for everything BUT graphics. Does it really keep all its speed by using the sfml rendering libraries as opposed to direct opengl rendering?

edit: http://elysianshadows.com/phpBB3/viewto ... hilit=sfml

Re: SFML VS 2010 Binaries

Posted: Mon May 17, 2010 7:36 am
by programmerinprogress
hmm, I've never really looked into this library.

It's hard letting go of a library you've invested so much time in you know :lol:

Re: SFML VS 2010 Binaries

Posted: Mon May 17, 2010 8:58 am
by Falco Girgis
davidthefat wrote:Just ditch VS and get CodeBlocks? :lol: Problem solved
Then you're introducing yet another problem: the fact that you are now using a piece of shit IDE. ;)

Re: SFML VS 2010 Binaries

Posted: Mon May 17, 2010 9:27 am
by GroundUpEngine
GyroVorbis wrote:
davidthefat wrote:Just ditch VS and get CodeBlocks? :lol: Problem solved
Then you're introducing yet another problem: the fact that you are now using a piece of shit IDE. ;)
Damn :lol:
As much as I'd like to argue, I'd be a hypocrite because I just ported all my shit back to VS lmao.

Re: SFML VS 2010 Binaries

Posted: Mon May 17, 2010 10:16 am
by Live-Dimension
short wrote:
Live-Dimension wrote: :lol:
SFML is virtually a 2D OpenGL, so it inherits its power, speed, and even a simplified shader language.
Do tell, I have just been using sfml for everything BUT graphics. Does it really keep all its speed by using the sfml rendering libraries as opposed to direct opengl rendering?

edit: http://elysianshadows.com/phpBB3/viewto ... hilit=sfml
I should of explained better. SFML is a wrapper for 2D-only OpenGL. It's pretty much what you'd write if you were writing an engine for using OpenGL in 2D. As such, I'm not sure if any performance gains would be noticeable with using direct OGL, as you'd have to write this engine anyway.

You can of course use your own OGL rendering commands instead of SFML graphics, so you can use 3D inside an SFML window if you wanted to.

Also, it can have multiple render windows, where as SDL can only have one (AFAIK).