Page 1 of 2
Hmm. C++ Standard Libs Don't Exist?
Posted: Thu May 27, 2010 8:02 pm
by ibly31
Allright, so I solved a huge problem in which Box2D wasn't being found in my Xcode project. Buuut, when I compile, I get 315 errors saying different things like "cmath - No such file or directory" and "cassert - No such file or directory". Also, it keeps thinking standard syntax like the word "template" are errors. It says that the variable "std" doesn't exist when used in std::something. Does anyone know why this is happening?
Mac OSX 10.5.8
Xcode 3.1.4 (hehe pi)
iPhone OS 3.1.3
Thanks!
Oh, btw. When I compile it without including it, it is error free. When I include it in the interface(.h) file, it errors. When I include it in the implementation(.mm) file, it doesn't error.
Re: Hmm. C++ Standard Libs Don't Exist?
Posted: Thu May 27, 2010 8:13 pm
by davidthefat
Stop using a Mac, install linux... problem solved
Re: Hmm. C++ Standard Libs Don't Exist?
Posted: Thu May 27, 2010 8:18 pm
by Ginto8
davidthefat wrote:Stop using a Mac, install linux... problem solved
NO. For the most part, a mac can do anything a linux box can do, and often more. Do not diss on the other *nix systems, when the real one to diss on is windows!
Re: Hmm. C++ Standard Libs Don't Exist?
Posted: Thu May 27, 2010 8:23 pm
by eatcomics
You're probably not looking for the files in the right place... maybe you did "cmath" instead of <cmath>?
Re: Hmm. C++ Standard Libs Don't Exist?
Posted: Thu May 27, 2010 11:15 pm
by avansc
davidthefat wrote:Stop using a Mac, install linux... problem solved
yes what a solution...dumbass.
i actually recently compiled box2d in xcode, worked fine for me, it uses cmake, so you need to know how to use that.
you need to give some more information on your problem. if you upload the entire project directory i'll be able to help you.
osx C/++ compiler 100 percent is ANSI/ISO C99 and C++x03(what ever is latest), the versions on linux ARE NOT(nothing to major missing).
anyways, your problem does not lie with xcode lacking anything, but more likely a incorrect setting.
Re: Hmm. C++ Standard Libs Don't Exist?
Posted: Fri May 28, 2010 12:13 am
by dandymcgee
Is it only this project? If not, you might want to check the IDE's lib/include paths are correct.
davidthefat wrote:Stop using a Mac, install linux... problem solved
Great advice! What distro do you have installed?
Re: Hmm. C++ Standard Libs Don't Exist?
Posted: Fri May 28, 2010 4:17 pm
by davidthefat
dandymcgee wrote:Is it only this project? If not, you might want to check the IDE's lib/include paths are correct.
davidthefat wrote:Stop using a Mac, install linux... problem solved
Great advice! What distro do you have installed?
Ubuntu, Fedora, Yellow Dog, pretty much it, yes, its all the noob ones
Re: Hmm. C++ Standard Libs Don't Exist?
Posted: Fri May 28, 2010 8:35 pm
by ibly31
Sigh, didn't mean to start an OS flame war.
Buut, it has noting to do with me including them wrong, "cmath instead of <cmath>" because its Box2D that is including them.
So I uploaded a zip file to my website, not sure if it'll work for you, but just tell me what I'm doing wrong and I'll try to fix it. Please don't bother exploring my site, theres nothing except PHP scripts that interact with databases that'll get screwed up if anyone visits them.
http://www.ibly31.com/Stuff/RGBBuilder.zip
Re: Hmm. C++ Standard Libs Don't Exist?
Posted: Fri May 28, 2010 8:41 pm
by avansc
ibly31 wrote:Sigh, didn't mean to start an OS flame war.
Buut, it has noting to do with me including them wrong, "cmath instead of <cmath>" because its Box2D that is including them.
So I uploaded a zip file to my website, not sure if it'll work for you, but just tell me what I'm doing wrong and I'll try to fix it. Please don't bother exploring my site, theres nothing except PHP scripts that interact with databases that'll get screwed up if anyone visits them.
http://www.ibly31.com/Stuff/RGBBuilder.zip
i dont have the iphone sdk installed, and probably wont for this. all i can say is that after running cmake on box2d it produced a xcode project file that compiled it fine.
Re: Hmm. C++ Standard Libs Don't Exist?
Posted: Fri May 28, 2010 8:43 pm
by ibly31
Cmake? What exactly is that? Sorry if that is a stupid question but I've honestly never heard of cmake before.
Re: Hmm. C++ Standard Libs Don't Exist?
Posted: Fri May 28, 2010 11:14 pm
by LeonBlade
Don't worry about any of that shit.
After looking up what to do, I encountered errors I tried re-doing the Box2D shit and with no luck.
Then I saw the whole rename
.m to
.mm thing.
So guess what dude... lol... you will face-palm pretty hard...
Rename
RGBBuilderAppDelegate.m to
RGBBuilderAppDelegate.mm and it compiles LOL
Well, there was an error with
world on one of your files but I edited the code to what I
thought you wanted and it built just fine
Re: Hmm. C++ Standard Libs Don't Exist?
Posted: Sat May 29, 2010 2:33 am
by ibly31
AHHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHHHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHHAHAH!!!!111oneoneone
Wow. Every time I would see the "rename the files to .mm" i would skip over it because I assumed I already did it. Haha well there went 4+ total hours worth of one single character in a filename.
Thanks so much, that saved my entire project. Not like Im going to go anywhere with it(I pretty much have ADD towards programming projects).
Re: Hmm. C++ Standard Libs Don't Exist?
Posted: Sat May 29, 2010 2:52 am
by LeonBlade
No problem man
Re: Hmm. C++ Standard Libs Don't Exist?
Posted: Sun May 30, 2010 3:06 pm
by Falco Girgis
ibly31 wrote:AHHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHHHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHHAHAH!!!!111oneoneone
Wow. Every time I would see the "rename the files to .mm" i would skip over it because I assumed I already did it. Haha well there went 4+ total hours worth of one single character in a filename.
Thanks so much, that saved my entire project. Not like Im going to go anywhere with it(I pretty much have ADD towards programming projects).
Welcome to yet another reason that XCode is a fucking nightmare...
Re: Hmm. C++ Standard Libs Don't Exist?
Posted: Mon May 31, 2010 1:58 pm
by avansc
GyroVorbis wrote:ibly31 wrote:AHHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHHHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHHAHAH!!!!111oneoneone
Wow. Every time I would see the "rename the files to .mm" i would skip over it because I assumed I already did it. Haha well there went 4+ total hours worth of one single character in a filename.
Thanks so much, that saved my entire project. Not like Im going to go anywhere with it(I pretty much have ADD towards programming projects).
Welcome to yet another reason that XCode is a fucking nightmare...
again.... picnic. problem in chair, not in computer. using the wrong extension then blaming the IDE/Compiler is just well. its just trying to not take responsibility for a mistake.