Page 1 of 1

Sprite Sizes

Posted: Tue Sep 21, 2010 5:10 pm
by dream_coder
Hey all, I have done a fair bit of coding. However I need to create some place holder graphics to get used to working with sprites and tile sheets. I was just wondering what sort of size I should make my sprites. I dont want them to be tiny commander keen style, I want them to be a reasonable size. However I am currently faced with the setup screen for a new project in Pro Motion 6 and I havnt a clue what size to make them. Any help would be appreciated.

Actually the image I have below is the sort of size I am looking for. Thanx.

Too small = COmmander Keen
Too Large = Street Fighter 2

Re: Sprite Sizes

Posted: Tue Sep 21, 2010 5:53 pm
by pritam
Just make it easy to change later and you'll be all set.

Re: Sprite Sizes

Posted: Wed Sep 22, 2010 12:17 pm
by Milch
I don't know what programming language you're using ( never heard of Pro Studio 6 ), but try to take a power of 2 spritesize.
So like 32x32, 64x64, 128x32, ...
because older graphic cards ( or chips, whatever ) dont support non power of 2 textures!

Re: Sprite Sizes

Posted: Wed Sep 22, 2010 1:03 pm
by pritam
Milch wrote:I don't know what programming language you're using ( never heard of Pro Studio 6 ), but try to take a power of 2 spritesize.
So like 32x32, 64x64, 128x32, ...
because older graphic cards ( or chips, whatever ) dont support non power of 2 textures!
Yeah, agreed. This is important.

Re: Sprite Sizes

Posted: Wed Sep 22, 2010 3:57 pm
by dream_coder
Im actually using C++ and gonna make a leap onto SDL. Pro Motion 6 was just a spriting package, however to be honest I didn't see any need for anything so advanced so just using paint.net now. I am doing 32 x 64 sprites for my place holder images, I aint going for anything advanced, just want some player objects to move about.

I have been a member of these forums for a while, but aint been on for quite a while due to work, as currently doing CCNA and MSCE, plus been in a relationship but that has ended so have a lot more free weekends now so gonna get back into devving.

I have just attached the images I made at some stupid hour this morning. I know they aint much but they aint meant to be proper sprites for games just for trialling purposes. When I have a 2d engine that is good I will probably pay an artist hopefully off of these forums or another to do some proper sprites based on concept art.

Re: Sprite Sizes

Posted: Wed Sep 22, 2010 4:09 pm
by epicasian
Just saying, but saving sprites *.JPGs can cause artifacting, so you can't edit after you save.

Re: Sprite Sizes

Posted: Wed Sep 22, 2010 4:11 pm
by dream_coder
Oh right. What should I save them as. I havnt even looked at SDL yet, just messing around with Paint.net at the minute, lol.

Re: Sprite Sizes

Posted: Wed Sep 22, 2010 4:15 pm
by epicasian
Well, *.PNGs and *.GIFs are ideal for sprite work, because it keeps the colors the way they are; or something like that. I'm not an artist, so I can't tell you the specifics.

Paint.NET, I think, is an okay program; I just liked Graphics Gale more when I attempted sprite work, lol

Re: Sprite Sizes

Posted: Wed Sep 22, 2010 4:18 pm
by dream_coder
Thanks for that. I will have another attempt at the sprites I think. WIll be good practice anyway. Is graphics gale free? ALso gonna try and knock together a sprite sheet holding background tiles for platforms and stuff just trying to figure out how to do it. I can make files the right size, ie n*32 x n*64 (width by height). But on Paint.net I cant see anyway of making a grid overlay appear so I know where a tile starts and ends. Can anybody advise please, because these seem like basics but actually pretty hard to implement.

Re: Sprite Sizes

Posted: Wed Sep 22, 2010 4:32 pm
by epicasian
No problem :DD. Also, yes; The free version at least lol: http://www.humanbalance.net/gale/us/ .

Tiles are a LOT easier to do the character sprites, in my opinion.

And for the grid overlay, in Graphics Gale, there is a way to make a grid appear. You can also search for grids on the intrawebz, or make one by checkerboarding a 32x32 tile.

Re: Sprite Sizes

Posted: Thu Sep 23, 2010 10:44 am
by dream_coder
I just downloaded Graphics Gale free version. Had a quick look at it. It seems perfect for what I want , so tonight I am gonna have another bash at some place holder graphics, will post what I create.