Pushing objects between C++ and Lua?

Whether you're a newbie or an experienced programmer, any questions, help, or just talk of any language will be welcomed here.

Moderator: Coders of Rage

Post Reply
User avatar
epicasian
Chaos Rift Junior
Chaos Rift Junior
Posts: 232
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2010 10:32 pm
Current Project: Gigazilla Engine
Favorite Gaming Platforms: Dreamcast, SNES, PS2, PC
Programming Language of Choice: C/++
Location: WoFo, KY

Pushing objects between C++ and Lua?

Post by epicasian »

I recently added Lua to my engine and am wondering how to push an object created in C++ to Lua so I can modify the values with a script. I'm using toLua++, if that matters.


Also, would I have to wrap SFML to Lua to do something like:

Code: Select all

RenderWindow.Draw(SomeSprite);
Thanks in advance.
N64vSNES
Chaos Rift Devotee
Chaos Rift Devotee
Posts: 632
Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2010 11:25 am

Re: Pushing objects between C++ and Lua?

Post by N64vSNES »

I've not used tolua to be honest but I've been looking into it recently and as far as I know you can't really throw a C++ object at lua but what I recommend you do is

Supposing we have a player class and you want to wrap it to lua then I suggest you have a singelton class as a Game-Manager so you can have objects in it such as a map object, a player object etc

And then you use those objects to get the values from lua

Heres a little example ( sorry its not in tolua, I'm still to look into that further )

Code: Select all


int SetPlayerHP(lua_State *l) {

// Get the first argument passed from lua
int amount = lua_tointeger(l,1);

// Set the players HP to the value we retrived from lua
GameManager::GetInstance()->Player.SetHP(amount);

return 0;
}

// This should be called in when the game is initialized
void ExportFunctions() {
// Register the function
lua_register( LuaState, "SetPlayerHP", SetPlayerHP );
}

Now you can call SetPlayerHP(value) from lua and it will set the value.

The might be a way to pass a actual object to lua since your using tolua but this method seems fine to me.

EDIT:
Oh and one last thing, for the project I'm working on I have to make sure that you can do

Code: Select all

SomeNPC = AddNPC()
And the way I handle that is having the lua function return a integer so then you can say stuff like

Code: Select all

RemoveNPC(SomeNPC)
The NPC subsystem actully has an array of NPCs and it returns the index of that array.
If that helps any
User avatar
epicasian
Chaos Rift Junior
Chaos Rift Junior
Posts: 232
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2010 10:32 pm
Current Project: Gigazilla Engine
Favorite Gaming Platforms: Dreamcast, SNES, PS2, PC
Programming Language of Choice: C/++
Location: WoFo, KY

Re: Pushing objects between C++ and Lua?

Post by epicasian »

Thanks for telling me, and I definitely recommend using toLua, it's hella easy.

--edit-- I've got a debug singleton, but I don't know how I would create it in Lua. I've tried:

Code: Select all

Dbg = GE.Debug:GetInstance()
Dbg:Init()
Dbg:Print("A Message")
My GetInstance() returns a static Debug instance, my Init() opens a file and my Print() prints to the file
N64vSNES
Chaos Rift Devotee
Chaos Rift Devotee
Posts: 632
Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2010 11:25 am

Re: Pushing objects between C++ and Lua?

Post by N64vSNES »

epicasian wrote:Thanks for telling me, and I definitely recommend using toLua, it's hella easy.

--edit-- I've got a debug singleton, but I don't know how I would create it in Lua. I've tried:

Code: Select all

Dbg = GE.Debug:GetInstance()
Dbg:Init()
Dbg:Print("A Message")
My GetInstance() returns a static Debug instance, my Init() opens a file and my Print() prints to the file
Ok from what I've heard tolua and tolua++ generates a .PKG file that you open in a lua state, so looking at a few tutorials should explain this pretty easily.

Wish I could help more but I really haven't used tolua enugh...:/
User avatar
Falco Girgis
Elysian Shadows Team
Elysian Shadows Team
Posts: 10294
Joined: Thu May 20, 2004 2:04 pm
Current Project: Elysian Shadows
Favorite Gaming Platforms: Dreamcast, SNES, NES
Programming Language of Choice: C/++
Location: Studio Vorbis, AL
Contact:

Re: Pushing objects between C++ and Lua?

Post by Falco Girgis »

epicasian wrote:Thanks for telling me, and I definitely recommend using toLua, it's hella easy.

--edit-- I've got a debug singleton, but I don't know how I would create it in Lua. I've tried:

Code: Select all

Dbg = GE.Debug:GetInstance()
Dbg:Init()
Dbg:Print("A Message")
My GetInstance() returns a static Debug instance, my Init() opens a file and my Print() prints to the file
And what is wrong with this approach? What is the Lua error? That's exactly how we handle quite a bit of stuff in the ES engine.

With toLua++, passing data to and from C++ is literally as easy as returning a pointer or a reference...

And to answer your answer question...do you really want to "create" something as vital as a debug class in Lua? I think what you mean to say is "access." Your subsystems/major functionality should exist in your engine and simply be "utilized" through Lua.
Post Reply