Generating and using code during runtime

Whether you're a newbie or an experienced programmer, any questions, help, or just talk of any language will be welcomed here.

Moderator: Coders of Rage

Rebornxeno
Chaos Rift Cool Newbie
Chaos Rift Cool Newbie

Generating and using code during runtime

Post by Rebornxeno »

Hey all es folk and non-es folk. For this project I'm personally working on I need a way to compile c++ code given to my application, link with the symbols in the source-file of my (currently running) application, and run the compiled code at any arbitrary moment. Starting this I realize that I have no current knowledge of how a compiler deals with the symbols from the high-level language or how a compiler really works. So I plan on making my own compiler-program-thigamabob that will either: return straight assembly that I can use directly in the application by some form of self modification, or compile into a dll which I can dynamically link and use somehow.

The end goal is to produce an application from which I can develop c++ code and change the application to use that code, all without ever restarting the program. This program is really starting to sound just like a compiler...Hmm..

Any of you space cowboys care to lend advice from your experience with something like this?
superLED
Chaos Rift Junior
Chaos Rift Junior
Current Project: Engine
Favorite Gaming Platforms: N64
Programming Language of Choice: C++, PHP

Re: Generating and using code during runtime

Post by superLED »

I'm not sure if I got your point, but wouldn't Lua scripting do the exact same thing for you? Changing variables and such at run-time?
THe Floating Brain
Chaos Rift Junior
Chaos Rift Junior
Current Project: RTS possible Third Person shooter engine.
Favorite Gaming Platforms: PC, Wii, Xbox 360, GAME CUBE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Programming Language of Choice: C/C++, Python 3, C#

Post by THe Floating Brain »