I found this like 2 minutes ago while work-working (as opposed to play-working, aka devving =) ) and thought someone might find it helpful. Visual Studio has a built-in 'Task List' that you can open by going to view > other windows > task list. Or, "ctrl+\, ctrl+T". You can keep a (super-basic, sort of inconvenient) todo under the "user tasks" category... not very helpful.
But! Under the "comments" category, it echoes all comments that start with a certain token from your code and double-clicking them takes you to them. In C++, it only works for the current file, I hear, but C# it works for the current solution.
You can change what tokens are recognized by going to tools > options > environment > task list, selecting a category, typing a token name, and hitting "add". Mine picks up 'TODO' (which it does by default), 'NOTE', and 'FIXME'. And since I do multilines of those by writing 'NOTE Cont' or 'TODO Cont', it works really nicely.
I'm using VS2008, and I know that it exists in VS 2005, and I'm assuming that you get to it in the same way. Versions before VS2005 have it built into the error list, I hear.
http://www.blackwasp.co.uk/TaskListComments.aspx
http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q=vi ... h&aq=f&oq=
Visual studio task list
Moderator: PC Supremacists
- MarauderIIC
- Respected Programmer
- Posts: 3406
- Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2004 3:05 pm
- Location: Maryland, USA
Visual studio task list
I realized the moment I fell into the fissure that the book would not be destroyed as I had planned.
- trufun202
- Game Developer
- Posts: 1105
- Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 12:27 am
- Location: Dallas, TX
- Contact:
Re: Visual studio task list
Yeah, it comes in handy.
You can also use //HACK to denote portions of code that you're hacking for a quick fix, but intend to fix later.
You can also use //HACK to denote portions of code that you're hacking for a quick fix, but intend to fix later.
- Falco Girgis
- Elysian Shadows Team
- Posts: 10294
- Joined: Thu May 20, 2004 2:04 pm
- Current Project: Elysian Shadows
- Favorite Gaming Platforms: Dreamcast, SNES, NES
- Programming Language of Choice: C/++
- Location: Studio Vorbis, AL
- Contact:
Re: Visual studio task list
Goddamnit. Now I feel even more motivated to upgrade to 2008. The last time that I tried to install, it told me that something wasn't found in a DLL, shit itself, and told me to reinstall. I have to fix that. =/
- MarauderIIC
- Respected Programmer
- Posts: 3406
- Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2004 3:05 pm
- Location: Maryland, USA
Re: Visual studio task list
HACK isn't something I ever write, which is why I added FIXME =)
Look on the bright side, falco: if you get 2008 to install, we can share a project file :P
Look on the bright side, falco: if you get 2008 to install, we can share a project file :P
I realized the moment I fell into the fissure that the book would not be destroyed as I had planned.
- Slacker
- Chaos Rift Newbie
- Posts: 31
- Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2008 11:41 am
- Location: MountLake Terrace, WA
- Contact:
Re: Visual studio task list
Nice! Thanks for bringing that to my attention, my previous methods were less than stellar.
~Slacker
- Trask
- ES Beta Backer
- Posts: 738
- Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2008 8:17 pm
- Current Project: Building a 2D Engine
- Favorite Gaming Platforms: Sega Genesis and Xbox 360
- Programming Language of Choice: C/C++
- Location: Pittsburgh, PA
- Contact:
Re: Visual studio task list
Oh? Nice, thanks for sharing that information!
Dear god, they actually ported ES to a piece of celery!MarauderIIC wrote:You know those people that are like "CHECK IT OUT I just made Linux run on this piece of celery [or other random object]!!"? Yeah, that's Falco, but with ES.
Martin Golding wrote: "Always code as if the guy who ends up maintaining your code will be a violent psychopath who knows where you live."
Re: Visual studio task list
I had this same problem actually... It only took a whole episode and a half of the office to download then it didn't work... I was sadGyroVorbis wrote:Goddamnit. Now I feel even more motivated to upgrade to 2008. The last time that I tried to install, it told me that something wasn't found in a DLL, shit itself, and told me to reinstall. I have to fix that. =/