dev setup

Random irrelevance that just didn't fit into other forums. Talk about anything.

Moderator: Talkative People

User avatar
jesterguy
Chaos Rift Cool Newbie
Chaos Rift Cool Newbie
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 8:00 pm
Location: Illinois
Contact:

dev setup

Post by jesterguy »

not sure if theres another of these topics but i was just wondering what kinda systems you guys are running for all your deving needs.

mine is:
Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5200+, MMX, 3DNow (2 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
Memory: 6gigs RAM
Hard Drive: 3 TB Total
Video Card: NVIDIAGeForce 8800gts(G92) / NVIDIAGeForce 8400 / NVIDIA GeForce 7900 GS
Monitor: six monitor setup: 22" widescreen, 17", 17", 17",17",17"
Sound Card: SB Audigy 2 ZS Audio [9C00]
Speakers/Headphones: logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers / icemat black headphones
Keyboard: Microsoft Natural 4000
Mouse: Razer lachesis
Mouse Surface: icemat black frosted glass mousepad
Operating System: Windows Vista Ultimate
Motherboard: ASUS M3A79-T Deluxe

(copied from my xfire profile)

screenshot of my desktop a min ago
Image

how come images dont show up for me?
I will live forever or die trying.

"Human beings didn't evolve brains in order to lie around on lakes. Killing's the first thing we learned. And a good thing we did, or we'd be dead, and the tigers would own the earth."
- Valentine to Ender ("Ender's Game")
User avatar
MarauderIIC
Respected Programmer
Respected Programmer
Posts: 3406
Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2004 3:05 pm
Location: Maryland, USA

Re: dev setup

Post by MarauderIIC »

jesterguy wrote:mine is:
<shiny pants>
<snip>
how come images dont show up for me?
Because they're > whatever the post area width is on a 1024x768 (I think that's what I have the make-it-a-link limit set to).

And as for the <shiny pants>, must be nice. I dev on an HP dv1000. That's a laptop. More specifically, my fiancee's laptop. I think they got some upgrades from base when they ordered it, and from memory since I'm not at home:
Processor: ~1.8?GHz Intel
Memory: 1.25gb (:P) PC2700 [shipped: 2 slots, 2x256]
Hard drive: 80GB (Dunno the RPM)
Video Card: Some Intel thing that uses ~64mb of system ram
Sound Card: Dunno
Speakers: Laptop speakers / Headphones with a volume adjustment on each ear
Keyboard: Laptop
Mouse: Touchpad
Operating System: Windows XP SP2
Motherboard: Who knows

Also from your sshot I can tell that
1) the tutorial you're at would save a lot of trouble by writing 'using',
2) you aren't a big fan of spaces, but you like carriage returns ")){...\n } \n else{" //eww
3) your variable capitalization is a bit strange ">> damage >> ApCost" //oops?
4) you don't like shorthand "if (blah) { \n ONE LINE \n } \n else{ \n ONE LINE \n}" , also if (blah == NULL) //i like shorthand
As opposed to if (blah) \n ONE LINE \n else \n ONE LINE \n
And as opposed to if (!blah), although tbh == NULL is 'safer' in case they decide to change NULL to some value not == 0 because that would make sense ha.
Last edited by MarauderIIC on Fri Oct 10, 2008 10:17 am, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: added sshot analysis >)
I realized the moment I fell into the fissure that the book would not be destroyed as I had planned.
User avatar
cypher1554R
Chaos Rift Demigod
Chaos Rift Demigod
Posts: 1124
Joined: Sun Jun 22, 2008 5:06 pm

Re: dev setup

Post by cypher1554R »

comon jesterguy.. 8-) You're just showin off..

But you surely have something to show off with..


The only thing that I have better than you are the headphones and maybe the sound card (external).. :lol:
User avatar
jesterguy
Chaos Rift Cool Newbie
Chaos Rift Cool Newbie
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 8:00 pm
Location: Illinois
Contact:

Re: dev setup

Post by jesterguy »

Also from your sshot I can tell that
1) the tutorial you're at would save a lot of trouble by writing 'using',
2) you aren't a big fan of spaces, but you like carriage returns ")){...\n } \n else{" //eww
3) your variable capitalization is a bit strange ">> damage >> ApCost" //oops?
4) you don't like shorthand "if (blah) { \n ONE LINE \n } \n else{ \n ONE LINE \n}" , also if (blah == NULL) //i like shorthand
As opposed to if (blah) \n ONE LINE \n else \n ONE LINE \n
And as opposed to if (!blah), although tbh == NULL is 'safer' in case they decide to change NULL to some value not == 0 because that would make sense ha.
1 ) Cant say much on it as I didn't write it.
2 ) ??? Sorry you lost me on this one.
3 ) Agreed, the variable names aren't quite as good as they should be and some need to be remade but that's still only my third real project after hello world, I'm still working on good codeing habits.
4 ) and no i don't like shorthand, i like easy to read, understand and modify code.

comon jesterguy.. 8-) You're just showin off..

But you surely have something to show off with..


The only thing that I have better than you are the headphones and maybe the sound card (external).. :lol:
lol maybe but I have the advantage of being 18 and having no other expenses plus for the past few years I've put all my money into my computer builds.
also I love my headphones I've never seen/worn more comfortable headphones then these.
I will live forever or die trying.

"Human beings didn't evolve brains in order to lie around on lakes. Killing's the first thing we learned. And a good thing we did, or we'd be dead, and the tigers would own the earth."
- Valentine to Ender ("Ender's Game")
User avatar
MarauderIIC
Respected Programmer
Respected Programmer
Posts: 3406
Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2004 3:05 pm
Location: Maryland, USA

Re: dev setup

Post by MarauderIIC »

2) You write

Code: Select all

if ((...) op (...)){
    dostuff
}
else{
    domorestuff
}
Instead of

Code: Select all

if ( (...) op (...) ) {
    dostuff
}
else {
    /* You also don't write "} else {" but if you did you'd probably write "}else{" */
    domorestuff
}
Obviously I was bored between classes. :)
I realized the moment I fell into the fissure that the book would not be destroyed as I had planned.
User avatar
jesterguy
Chaos Rift Cool Newbie
Chaos Rift Cool Newbie
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 8:00 pm
Location: Illinois
Contact:

Re: dev setup

Post by jesterguy »

O ok you were talking about the spaces, then yea I did do that originally but I've been starting to use spaces alot more lately. Like I said its only my third project so I'm still working on good coding habits.

Its better to be bored between classes then not have any classes at all, I was a bit too lazy during the summer and missed my chance to sign up for the first semester so now I'm sitting around all day with nothing to do.
I will live forever or die trying.

"Human beings didn't evolve brains in order to lie around on lakes. Killing's the first thing we learned. And a good thing we did, or we'd be dead, and the tigers would own the earth."
- Valentine to Ender ("Ender's Game")
User avatar
dandymcgee
ES Beta Backer
ES Beta Backer
Posts: 4709
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2008 3:24 pm
Current Project: https://github.com/dbechrd/RicoTech
Favorite Gaming Platforms: NES, Sega Genesis, PS2, PC
Programming Language of Choice: C
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: dev setup

Post by dandymcgee »

You have six monitors.. wtf?
Falco Girgis wrote:It is imperative that I can broadcast my narcissistic commit strings to the Twitter! Tweet Tweet, bitches! :twisted:
User avatar
Falco Girgis
Elysian Shadows Team
Elysian Shadows Team
Posts: 10294
Joined: Thu May 20, 2004 2:04 pm
Current Project: Elysian Shadows
Favorite Gaming Platforms: Dreamcast, SNES, NES
Programming Language of Choice: C/++
Location: Studio Vorbis, AL
Contact:

Re: dev setup

Post by Falco Girgis »

Intel Pentium 4 CPU 3.40GHz
2.0 GB of RAM
Windows XP Service Pack 2
ATI Radeon X1650 512MB VRAM

KVM switch for second monitor/Dreamcast

Sega Dreamcast
200Mhz SH4 processor
16MB System RAM
8MB Video Ram
PowerVR2 Video
~3 million poly/sec theoretical performance
400 blocks of storage (memory card)

My dev setup.
User avatar
dandymcgee
ES Beta Backer
ES Beta Backer
Posts: 4709
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2008 3:24 pm
Current Project: https://github.com/dbechrd/RicoTech
Favorite Gaming Platforms: NES, Sega Genesis, PS2, PC
Programming Language of Choice: C
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: dev setup

Post by dandymcgee »

Me:

DOS Machine:
75 MHz (P1?)
16MB RAM
1GB HDD
Graphics Card: ROFL

Dev Computer:
AMD Sempron 2.0 GHz
256MB RAM
250GB HDD / 40GB HDD
64MB MSI MX4000 Graphics Card
Windows XP Home SP3

Well at least it's a little better than Falco's DreamCast.
Last edited by dandymcgee on Sat Oct 11, 2008 8:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Falco Girgis wrote:It is imperative that I can broadcast my narcissistic commit strings to the Twitter! Tweet Tweet, bitches! :twisted:
User avatar
Falco Girgis
Elysian Shadows Team
Elysian Shadows Team
Posts: 10294
Joined: Thu May 20, 2004 2:04 pm
Current Project: Elysian Shadows
Favorite Gaming Platforms: Dreamcast, SNES, NES
Programming Language of Choice: C/++
Location: Studio Vorbis, AL
Contact:

Re: dev setup

Post by Falco Girgis »

dandymcgee wrote:Well at least it's a little better than Falco's DreamCast.
OH NO YOU DIDN'T. Can that graphics card of yours do Dot3 Bumpmapping?
User avatar
dandymcgee
ES Beta Backer
ES Beta Backer
Posts: 4709
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2008 3:24 pm
Current Project: https://github.com/dbechrd/RicoTech
Favorite Gaming Platforms: NES, Sega Genesis, PS2, PC
Programming Language of Choice: C
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: dev setup

Post by dandymcgee »

How do I tell? :P

EDIT: Lol a Dot3 Bump mapping app just crashed my computer o.O You Win.
Falco Girgis wrote:It is imperative that I can broadcast my narcissistic commit strings to the Twitter! Tweet Tweet, bitches! :twisted:
User avatar
Falco Girgis
Elysian Shadows Team
Elysian Shadows Team
Posts: 10294
Joined: Thu May 20, 2004 2:04 pm
Current Project: Elysian Shadows
Favorite Gaming Platforms: Dreamcast, SNES, NES
Programming Language of Choice: C/++
Location: Studio Vorbis, AL
Contact:

Re: dev setup

Post by Falco Girgis »

dandymcgee wrote:How do I tell? :P

EDIT: Lol a Dot3 Bump mapping app just crashed my computer o.O You Win.
HAHAHAHA! That just made my night!

Dreamcast wins.
User avatar
dandymcgee
ES Beta Backer
ES Beta Backer
Posts: 4709
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2008 3:24 pm
Current Project: https://github.com/dbechrd/RicoTech
Favorite Gaming Platforms: NES, Sega Genesis, PS2, PC
Programming Language of Choice: C
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: dev setup

Post by dandymcgee »

In case you were wondering: http://www.zanir.szm.sk/dx10-19.html

BTW, next video needs to include some sort of proof that you can run this on your DreamCast. If my memory recalls correctly (which it probably does not), I haven't seen a running DreamCast in your videos for quite some time.
Falco Girgis wrote:It is imperative that I can broadcast my narcissistic commit strings to the Twitter! Tweet Tweet, bitches! :twisted:
User avatar
Falco Girgis
Elysian Shadows Team
Elysian Shadows Team
Posts: 10294
Joined: Thu May 20, 2004 2:04 pm
Current Project: Elysian Shadows
Favorite Gaming Platforms: Dreamcast, SNES, NES
Programming Language of Choice: C/++
Location: Studio Vorbis, AL
Contact:

Re: dev setup

Post by Falco Girgis »

It will.

...it's running on Dreamcast right now. I just broke the build for a long time.
User avatar
trufun202
Game Developer
Game Developer
Posts: 1105
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 12:27 am
Location: Dallas, TX
Contact:

Re: dev setup

Post by trufun202 »

My dev setup pretty much teh suck. It doesn't run games well, but thats what my consoles are for...

Processor: AMD Athlon 3500+ (2.21 ghz)
Memory: 736 MB :oops:
Hard drive: 20GB :oops:
Video Card: NVidia GeForce 6100
Keyboard: Microsoft Wireless
Mouse: Logitech
Operating System: Windows XP Pro SP2
-Chris

YouTube | Twitter | Rad Raygun

“REAL ARTISTS SHIP” - Steve Jobs
Post Reply