Winsock2 linker error
Moderator: Coders of Rage
-
- Chaos Rift Demigod
- Posts: 991
- Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2008 3:16 pm
- Current Project: Elysian Shadows
- Favorite Gaming Platforms: Amiga, PSOne, NDS
- Programming Language of Choice: C++
- Location: Sweden
Winsock2 linker error
So I just started to write some stuff for IRC with WS2 and Visual Studio Express 2008, as usual I forgot to add that additional library "WS2_32.Lib" in the project options and got some linker errors and had Marcel help me out (again, thanks), but I wonder, why is this necessary? Why doesn't the header file for winsock handle that sort of thing?
- Milch
- Chaos Rift Junior
- Posts: 241
- Joined: Sat Jul 11, 2009 5:55 am
- Programming Language of Choice: C++
- Location: Austria, Vienna
Re: Winsock2 linker error
You mean why doesnt the header file include the libs?
Good question, I think this is because you would have to declare your path to the lib inside the .h file ( e.g #link LibLib.Lib ) - so if multiple people work on the same project that would be pretty annoying to change it all the time. But I think there was a preprocessor command in VC that did something like this.
Or why do you have to link the libs?
In the Header you tell the compiler "Hey, there is a function 'XYZ' but its stored somewhere different."
During compilation all your c/cpp files are 'converted' into object files and 'linked' together.
If the linker doesnt find the function you showed him in the header, it throws an error.
Good question, I think this is because you would have to declare your path to the lib inside the .h file ( e.g #link LibLib.Lib ) - so if multiple people work on the same project that would be pretty annoying to change it all the time. But I think there was a preprocessor command in VC that did something like this.
Or why do you have to link the libs?
In the Header you tell the compiler "Hey, there is a function 'XYZ' but its stored somewhere different."
During compilation all your c/cpp files are 'converted' into object files and 'linked' together.
If the linker doesnt find the function you showed him in the header, it throws an error.
Follow me on twitter!
-
- Chaos Rift Demigod
- Posts: 991
- Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2008 3:16 pm
- Current Project: Elysian Shadows
- Favorite Gaming Platforms: Amiga, PSOne, NDS
- Programming Language of Choice: C++
- Location: Sweden
Re: Winsock2 linker error
I think that pretty much answered what I wanted to know, thanks 
