Why is my class not working?!?!

Whether you're a newbie or an experienced programmer, any questions, help, or just talk of any language will be welcomed here.

Moderator: Coders of Rage

Post Reply
User avatar
BlobOfFailure
Chaos Rift Newbie
Chaos Rift Newbie
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2010 10:38 am
Programming Language of Choice: C++

Why is my class not working?!?!

Post by BlobOfFailure »

I'm currently working on a level editor for a game I've been working on, the System class for my editor is a singleton and has the buffer inside it (I'm using SDL btw), so inside my sprite class I reference the buffer and I get an error saying
error: 'System' has not been delclared
and it does it again for my getInstance function so I thought "Oh I must have not included the header, but I checked and at the top I have the right header included. Any ideas to what the problem could be?

Code: Select all

//System.h
#ifndef SYSTEM_H_INCLUDED
#define SYSTEM_H_INCLUDED
#include "sdl/sdl.h"
#include "cursor.h"
#include "sprite.h"

//extern SDL_Surface* buffer;

class System
{
    public:

    void init();

    void run();

    void exit();

    SDL_Surface* buffer;

    static System &getInstance()
    {
        static System instance;
        return instance;
    }

    int SCREEN_WIDTH;
    int SCREEN_HEIGHT;
    int SCREEN_BPP;
    int FRAMES_PER_SECOND;
    bool quit;
    SDL_Event event;
    private:
    Cursor c;
    //Cursor *c;
    int curTicks;
    //bool quit;
    void getInput();
    void render();
    void limitFPS();

    Uint8 *key;
};

#endif // SYSTEM_H_INCLUDED

Code: Select all

//Sprite.h
#ifndef SPRITE_H_INCLUDED
#define SPRITE_H_INCLUDED
#include "TextureManager.h"
#include "System.h"

class Sprite
{
    public:
    Sprite(){image = TextureManager::getInstance().getTexture(0);} //Sets default image
    ~Sprite(){SDL_FreeSurface(image);} 
    int x, y;
    void setImage(SDL_Surface* newImage){image = newImage;}
    void setPos(int newX, int newY){y = newY;
                                    x = newX;}
    void update(){pos.x = x;
                  pos.y = y;} //Pre render update for position rect

    void render(){SDL_BlitSurface(image, &clip, System::getInstance().buffer, &pos);} //Renders the sprite onto the screen

    void setClip(int x, int y, int w, int h){clip.x = x;
                                             clip.y = y;
                                             clip.w = w;
                                             clip.h = h;}
    private:
    SDL_Surface* image;
    SDL_Rect clip;
    SDL_Rect pos;

};

#endif // SPRITE_H_INCLUDED
User avatar
adikid89
Chaos Rift Cool Newbie
Chaos Rift Cool Newbie
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2010 6:59 am
Current Project: small tiny-mini projects
Favorite Gaming Platforms: PC I guess...
Programming Language of Choice: c++

Re: Why is my class not working?!?!

Post by adikid89 »

System includes Sprite, and Sprite includes System...
use a forward declaration of one of those.. like so:
BlobOfFailure wrote:

Code: Select all

//Sprite.h
#ifndef SPRITE_H_INCLUDED
#define SPRITE_H_INCLUDED
#include "TextureManager.h"
#include "System.h"

class System;

class Sprite {
public:
My first game C++/SDL Yoshi Combat! = http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HQ9mMBEWSZg
==============================================================
Image
User avatar
BlobOfFailure
Chaos Rift Newbie
Chaos Rift Newbie
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2010 10:38 am
Programming Language of Choice: C++

Re: Why is my class not working?!?!

Post by BlobOfFailure »

Thanks, that did the trick, it compiled right and is working now.
Post Reply