GetCurrent??
Moderator: Coders of Rage
- MadPumpkin
- Chaos Rift Maniac
- Posts: 484
- Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2009 4:48 pm
- Current Project: Octopia
- Favorite Gaming Platforms: PS1-3, Genesis, Dreamcast, SNES, PC
- Programming Language of Choice: C/++,Java,Py,LUA,XML
- Location: C:\\United States of America\Utah\West Valley City\Neighborhood\House\Computer Desk
GetCurrent??
How might I go about a "GetCurrent" function. Basically I want the node you click on, to be selected. Then from there I can delete the current one from the vector or move it.
While Jesus equipped with angels, the Devil's equipped with cops
For God so loved the world that he blessed the thugs with rock



For God so loved the world that he blessed the thugs with rock



- adikid89
- Chaos Rift Cool Newbie
- Posts: 94
- Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2010 6:59 am
- Current Project: small tiny-mini projects
- Favorite Gaming Platforms: PC I guess...
- Programming Language of Choice: c++
Re: GetCurrent??
Am I the only one who doesn't understand your question? The std::vector class has these functionalities... so you can easily use that.
My first game C++/SDL Yoshi Combat! = http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HQ9mMBEWSZg
==============================================================

==============================================================

Re: GetCurrent??
I'm not positive I understood your question, I'm going to assume you are using C++.
________
|Node 1| -------------> if ( Clicked == true ) { Current == 1; }
|__ ___|
________
|Node 2|-------------> if ( Clicked == true ) { Current == 2; }
|__ ___|
________
|Node 3|-------------> if ( Clicked == true ) { Current == 3; }
|__ ___|
etc...
I think thats what you mean?
________
|Node 1| -------------> if ( Clicked == true ) { Current == 1; }
|__ ___|
________
|Node 2|-------------> if ( Clicked == true ) { Current == 2; }
|__ ___|
________
|Node 3|-------------> if ( Clicked == true ) { Current == 3; }
|__ ___|
Code: Select all
int GetCurrent() {
return Current;
}
void EraseCurrent() {
Nodes.erase(Nodes.begin() + GetCurrent()); // Nodes being the vector
}
I think thats what you mean?
- dandymcgee
- ES Beta Backer
- Posts: 4709
- Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2008 3:24 pm
- Current Project: https://github.com/dbechrd/RicoTech
- Favorite Gaming Platforms: NES, Sega Genesis, PS2, PC
- Programming Language of Choice: C
- Location: San Francisco
- Contact:
Re: GetCurrent??
No idea what you're trying to ask. If you could reword your question it would help us help you.
Falco Girgis wrote:It is imperative that I can broadcast my narcissistic commit strings to the Twitter! Tweet Tweet, bitches!
- MadPumpkin
- Chaos Rift Maniac
- Posts: 484
- Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2009 4:48 pm
- Current Project: Octopia
- Favorite Gaming Platforms: PS1-3, Genesis, Dreamcast, SNES, PC
- Programming Language of Choice: C/++,Java,Py,LUA,XML
- Location: C:\\United States of America\Utah\West Valley City\Neighborhood\House\Computer Desk
Re: GetCurrent??
Alright, sorry for the bad wording and short description everyone, I was tired when I posted that problem. Thank you all though, I think I can work N64vNES's thingy into exactly what I need to thanks man.N64vSNES wrote:I'm not positive I understood your question, I'm going to assume you are using C++.
________
|Node 1| -------------> if ( Clicked == true ) { Current == 1; }
|__ ___|
________
|Node 2|-------------> if ( Clicked == true ) { Current == 2; }
|__ ___|
________
|Node 3|-------------> if ( Clicked == true ) { Current == 3; }
|__ ___|
etc...Code: Select all
int GetCurrent() { return Current; } void EraseCurrent() { Nodes.erase(Nodes.begin() + GetCurrent()); // Nodes being the vector }
I think thats what you mean?
While Jesus equipped with angels, the Devil's equipped with cops
For God so loved the world that he blessed the thugs with rock



For God so loved the world that he blessed the thugs with rock



Re: GetCurrent??
I still don't get it but I think thats anwsered his question =]
- MadPumpkin
- Chaos Rift Maniac
- Posts: 484
- Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2009 4:48 pm
- Current Project: Octopia
- Favorite Gaming Platforms: PS1-3, Genesis, Dreamcast, SNES, PC
- Programming Language of Choice: C/++,Java,Py,LUA,XML
- Location: C:\\United States of America\Utah\West Valley City\Neighborhood\House\Computer Desk
Re: GetCurrent??
Basically I'm making a map editor in c++ and I'm having major problems with deleting the selected object and even MAKING an object be selected. You click on a node to select it, and after a node is selected you can delete it, or right click it to open it's properties. Now that I have a better description, do you know how I can make it so that clicking on a node/object will "set it to selected" so that I can do those things?N64vSNES wrote:I still don't get it but I think thats anwsered his question =]
While Jesus equipped with angels, the Devil's equipped with cops
For God so loved the world that he blessed the thugs with rock



For God so loved the world that he blessed the thugs with rock



- adikid89
- Chaos Rift Cool Newbie
- Posts: 94
- Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2010 6:59 am
- Current Project: small tiny-mini projects
- Favorite Gaming Platforms: PC I guess...
- Programming Language of Choice: c++
Re: GetCurrent??
Sorry if the code wasn't helpful
Code: Select all
Tile* selected = 0;
//pseudocode ?
if(event.type == MouseLButtonPressed) {
//the "algorithm" to get a tile at a mouse pos should be pretty easy
selected = GetTileAt(event.mouse.x, event.mouse.y);
}
if(event.type == KeyDeletePressed) {
if(selected) selected->ResetToDefaultTile();
}
if(event.type == MouseRButtonPressed) {
if(selected) OpenPropertiesDialog(selected);
}
My first game C++/SDL Yoshi Combat! = http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HQ9mMBEWSZg
==============================================================

==============================================================

- MadPumpkin
- Chaos Rift Maniac
- Posts: 484
- Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2009 4:48 pm
- Current Project: Octopia
- Favorite Gaming Platforms: PS1-3, Genesis, Dreamcast, SNES, PC
- Programming Language of Choice: C/++,Java,Py,LUA,XML
- Location: C:\\United States of America\Utah\West Valley City\Neighborhood\House\Computer Desk
Re: GetCurrent??
This and NES's will be great if I work them together. The game isn't tile based in that way though, it uses backdrops like this for example.adikid89 wrote:Sorry if the code wasn't helpfulCode: Select all
Tile* selected = 0; //pseudocode ? if(event.type == MouseLButtonPressed) { //the "algorithm" to get a tile at a mouse pos should be pretty easy selected = GetTileAt(event.mouse.x, event.mouse.y); } if(event.type == KeyDeletePressed) { if(selected) selected->ResetToDefaultTile(); } if(event.type == MouseRButtonPressed) { if(selected) OpenPropertiesDialog(selected); }

So it's not supposed to just make it a different tile, it's going to remove it from the Vector entirely.
While Jesus equipped with angels, the Devil's equipped with cops
For God so loved the world that he blessed the thugs with rock



For God so loved the world that he blessed the thugs with rock



- adikid89
- Chaos Rift Cool Newbie
- Posts: 94
- Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2010 6:59 am
- Current Project: small tiny-mini projects
- Favorite Gaming Platforms: PC I guess...
- Programming Language of Choice: c++
Re: GetCurrent??
You can check a Rect collision on the objects with the mouse coords where the click happened. If there was a collision with the rect of a object (the rect is the image's x,y pos and w/h)... then you do find out the mouse coords relative to the rect, and then check the pixel at that pos. If the pixel's color is black(or whatever dummy color you use to mask it) you skip it...cause it means it wasn't clicked in a proper position. But..if the color isn't black... then make the current object be select.
Also the removing part should be really easy... if you're using a vector...
Also the removing part should be really easy... if you're using a vector...
My first game C++/SDL Yoshi Combat! = http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HQ9mMBEWSZg
==============================================================

==============================================================
