No Java 0.0
Moderator: Coders of Rage
- THe Floating Brain
- Chaos Rift Junior
- Posts: 284
- Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 7:22 pm
- Current Project: RTS possible Third Person shooter engine.
- Favorite Gaming Platforms: PC, Wii, Xbox 360, GAME CUBE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
- Programming Language of Choice: C/C++, Python 3, C#
- Location: U.S
No Java 0.0
So about a year ago someone tried to teach me Java, so I installed Eclipse on my laptop (windows vista) and desktop (windows 7 X86). Eclipsed worked until one day it gave me a error. Mainly being a C++ developer I just went on ahead with my project and used the laptop for Java instead. But recently I got back into Java so I re-installed eclipse, it told me the JDK was missing; so I went and installed the JDK. After that I got the same error, so I restart my computer... nothing. Several days later (today) I decided to approach the problem again and I re-installed eclipse and the JDK and still not luck, does any one know what I should do?
"Why did we say we were going to say we were going to change the world tomorrow yesterday? Maybe you can." - Myself
-
- Respected Programmer
- Posts: 387
- Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2008 3:33 pm
- Location: Dallas
- Contact:
Re: No Java 0.0
Be sure you have the JRE as well. But there have been problems recently w/ the 64bit JDK binaries. Try to install the x86 JDK if you have not already. This fixes the problem in most cases.
- THe Floating Brain
- Chaos Rift Junior
- Posts: 284
- Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 7:22 pm
- Current Project: RTS possible Third Person shooter engine.
- Favorite Gaming Platforms: PC, Wii, Xbox 360, GAME CUBE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
- Programming Language of Choice: C/C++, Python 3, C#
- Location: U.S
Re: No Java 0.0
I attempted to install the JRE and it said I already had it but did any way; and I made sure both the JDK and the JRE are X86. Thank you for the suggestion though.qpHalcy0n wrote:Be sure you have the JRE as well. But there have been problems recently w/ the 64bit JDK binaries. Try to install the x86 JDK if you have not already. This fixes the problem in most cases.
"Why did we say we were going to say we were going to change the world tomorrow yesterday? Maybe you can." - Myself
- christo
- Chaos Rift Cool Newbie
- Posts: 59
- Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2010 7:28 am
- Favorite Gaming Platforms: iPhone, PS3
- Programming Language of Choice: c, java, groovy
- Contact:
Re: No Java 0.0
The JDK comes with the JRE.
Eclipse also comes with its own JRE (because it happens to be a Java application) but you can run it on a specific other JRE if you want.
I'm guessing you just want it to work.
If you can tell me the specific error I can probably help.
Eclipse also comes with its own JRE (because it happens to be a Java application) but you can run it on a specific other JRE if you want.
I'm guessing you just want it to work.
If you can tell me the specific error I can probably help.
- THe Floating Brain
- Chaos Rift Junior
- Posts: 284
- Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 7:22 pm
- Current Project: RTS possible Third Person shooter engine.
- Favorite Gaming Platforms: PC, Wii, Xbox 360, GAME CUBE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
- Programming Language of Choice: C/C++, Python 3, C#
- Location: U.S
Re: No Java 0.0
"Why did we say we were going to say we were going to change the world tomorrow yesterday? Maybe you can." - Myself
Re: No Java 0.0
This error can easily be solved by uninstalling java and using any good platform
- MrDeathNote
- ES Beta Backer
- Posts: 594
- Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2009 9:57 am
- Current Project: cocos2d-x project
- Favorite Gaming Platforms: SNES, Sega Megadrive, XBox 360
- Programming Language of Choice: C/++
- Location: Belfast, Ireland
- Contact:
Re: No Java 0.0
Are you using a 32bit or 64 bit version of eclipse. Sometimes the 32bit eclipse cannot detect 64 bit JREs and JDKs. Try downloading the 64bit version of eclipse and if that doesn't work try pointing eclipse to your JRE manually by:
Window->Preferences->Java->Installed JREs
Then add in your own JRE and select it as the default JRE.
Window->Preferences->Java->Installed JREs
Then add in your own JRE and select it as the default JRE.
http://www.youtube.com/user/MrDeathNote1988
"C makes it easy to shoot yourself in the foot. C++ makes it
harder, but when you do, it blows away your whole leg." - Bjarne Stroustrup
"C makes it easy to shoot yourself in the foot. C++ makes it
harder, but when you do, it blows away your whole leg." - Bjarne Stroustrup
- THe Floating Brain
- Chaos Rift Junior
- Posts: 284
- Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 7:22 pm
- Current Project: RTS possible Third Person shooter engine.
- Favorite Gaming Platforms: PC, Wii, Xbox 360, GAME CUBE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
- Programming Language of Choice: C/C++, Python 3, C#
- Location: U.S
Re: No Java 0.0
Problem solved! Thank you :-Dk1net1k wrote:This error can easily be solved by uninstalling java and using any good platform
"Why did we say we were going to say we were going to change the world tomorrow yesterday? Maybe you can." - Myself