Page 8 of 20

Re: [GroundUpEngine] 3D Engine Progress

Posted: Sun Feb 21, 2010 3:25 pm
by GroundUpEngine
I gotta find a better way of recording, sometimes I get really bad lag when there's alot of objects in an environment :P
Screen capture sucks :(

Re: [GroundUpEngine] 3D Engine Progress

Posted: Sun Feb 21, 2010 3:54 pm
by MrDeathNote
GroundUpEngine wrote:I gotta find a better way of recording, sometimes I get really bad lag when there's alot of objects in an environment :P
Screen capture sucks :(
Yes it does, it's really hard to show something off when shitty screen capture software is ruining everything :x

Re: [GroundUpEngine] 3D Engine Progress

Posted: Mon Feb 22, 2010 2:37 am
by K-Bal
Buy Fraps ;)

Edit: Capturing the screen several times per second is massive work for your memory and CPU. First of all you should look at your hardware specs ;)

Re: [GroundUpEngine] 3D Engine Progress

Posted: Mon Feb 22, 2010 3:56 am
by MrDeathNote
K-Bal wrote:Buy Fraps ;)

Edit: Capturing the screen several times per second is massive work for your memory and CPU. First of all you should look at your hardware specs ;)
I have a quad core with 8gigs of ram it should be able to run it no problem, but i know what your saying. Its a comprimise between functionality and performance as always....

Re: [GroundUpEngine] 3D Engine Progress

Posted: Mon Feb 22, 2010 5:44 am
by GroundUpEngine
MrDeathNote wrote:
K-Bal wrote:Buy Fraps ;)

Edit: Capturing the screen several times per second is massive work for your memory and CPU. First of all you should look at your hardware specs ;)
I have a quad core with 8gigs of ram it should be able to run it no problem, but i know what your saying. Its a comprimise between functionality and performance as always....
/agree

mine is only dual core 4gigs though

Re: [GroundUpEngine] 3D Engine Progress

Posted: Mon Feb 22, 2010 11:41 am
by Falco Girgis
Hey, dude. I saw your post in the Singleton thread, and I was going to be responding once I decided exactly what to recommend for you. I'm not sure why you deleted it, it was a pretty good question. :)

Re: [GroundUpEngine] 3D Engine Progress

Posted: Mon Feb 22, 2010 11:56 am
by Lord Pingas
This project is looking good so far and I can't wait to see the finished product. :)

Re: [GroundUpEngine] 3D Engine Progress

Posted: Mon Feb 22, 2010 11:58 am
by GroundUpEngine
GyroVorbis wrote:Hey, dude. I saw your post in the Singleton thread, and I was going to be responding once I decided exactly what to recommend for you. I'm not sure why you deleted it, it was a pretty good question. :)
my bad I thought it was a bad question ;)
/fail

--

So yeah, I got like 2 or maybe more singletons in Engine, Debug Log, Window for rendering, etc..

Code: Select all

GraphicsManager3D::GraphicsManager3D()
{
	Debug = Singleton<Log>::GetInstance();

	Window = Singleton<WindowManager>::GetInstance();
}
--
int WindowManager::GetWidth()
{
	return WindWidth;
}
int WindowManager::GetHeight()
{
	return WindHeight;
}
RenderWindow* WindowManager::GetScreenSurface()
{
	return MainWindow;
}

Code: Select all

--So I could

void GraphicsManager3D::GetProps()
{
	// Get Screen Properties //
	int SCREEN_WIDTH = Window->GetScreenSurface()->GetWidth();
	int SCREEN_HEIGHT = Window->GetScreenSurface()->GetHeight();

	// Can be used to adjust GUI, text, etc.. on the screen //
}
Is the window stuff a bad idea? What should I do to improve it?

Re: [GroundUpEngine] 3D Engine Progress

Posted: Mon Feb 22, 2010 7:45 pm
by GroundUpEngine
Found some more time for the PSP(still learning) part of the Engine, this time an Image :mrgreen:
Image

Re: [GroundUpEngine] 3D Engine Progress

Posted: Tue Feb 23, 2010 4:19 pm
by MrDeathNote
GroundUpEngine wrote:Found some more time for the PSP(still learning) part of the Engine, this time an Image :mrgreen:
Image
Nice job, i'm working on some psp stuff at the min. Just started on it like 2 days ago, setting up the toolchain was a bitch. It was lying to me telling me i didn't have packages installed when i did. Got it fixed anyway and im on the way to world domination........

Re: [GroundUpEngine] 3D Engine Progress

Posted: Tue Feb 23, 2010 8:09 pm
by eatcomics
Awesome man! I've been wanting to get in to PSP dev for like a year, finally got a PSP 3000 at christmas, but I'm dumbass and updated to 6.2... sigh... Now I have to trade it in (I don't think my parents would like that cause they got it for me...) or just wait for it to be broken... they are currently working on 5.5... 'nother sigh....

but sweet none the less!

Re: [GroundUpEngine] 3D Engine Progress

Posted: Wed Feb 24, 2010 4:10 am
by MrDeathNote
eatcomics wrote:Awesome man! I've been wanting to get in to PSP dev for like a year, finally got a PSP 3000 at christmas, but I'm dumbass and updated to 6.2... sigh... Now I have to trade it in (I don't think my parents would like that cause they got it for me...) or just wait for it to be broken... they are currently working on 5.5... 'nother sigh....

but sweet none the less!
Can you even put CFW on PSP3000, i know you can use a pandora battery for 1000 and 2000 to downgrade the firmware? Plus you can learn using an emulator, it's what GroundUpEngine's doin and myself for that matter :)

Re: [GroundUpEngine] 3D Engine Progress

Posted: Wed Feb 24, 2010 12:12 pm
by kamokow
MrDeathNote: Provided you have firmware 5.03 or lower, upgrade to 5.03 if necissary, run ChickHEN r2, run a CFW installer compatable with the motherboards on PSP-3000 (I use 5.03 M33). But if you turn of the PSP, you have to re-install the CFW until someone in the dev community comes up with an exploit that works better.

Re: [GroundUpEngine] 3D Engine Progress

Posted: Wed Feb 24, 2010 4:55 pm
by ZachO
Gosh this engine Is going to be EPIC!




Peace Out,
ZachO

Re: [GroundUpEngine] 3D Engine Progress

Posted: Wed Feb 24, 2010 5:29 pm
by MrDeathNote
kamokow wrote:MrDeathNote: Provided you have firmware 5.03 or lower, upgrade to 5.03 if necissary, run ChickHEN r2, run a CFW installer compatable with the motherboards on PSP-3000 (I use 5.03 M33). But if you turn of the PSP, you have to re-install the CFW until someone in the dev community comes up with an exploit that works better.
Man thats a pain. I have a psp-1000 myself with CFW on it, gotta love playing all my old snes and genesis favourites on the go, and for developing too of course.