Algorithms

Whether you're a newbie or an experienced programmer, any questions, help, or just talk of any language will be welcomed here.

Moderator: Coders of Rage

mattnenterprise
Chaos Rift Newbie
Chaos Rift Newbie

Algorithms

Post by mattnenterprise »

I am new to algorithms. I was wonder of a good book or website to learn algorithms.
Arce
Jealous Self-Righteous Prick
Jealous Self-Righteous Prick

Re: Algorithms

Post by Arce »

Uh.

What?
<qpHalcy0n> decided to paint the office, now i'm high and my hands hurt
dandymcgee
ES Beta Backer
ES Beta Backer
Current Project: https://github.com/dbechrd/RicoTech
Favorite Gaming Platforms: NES, Sega Genesis, PS2, PC
Programming Language of Choice: C

Post by dandymcgee »

Arce wrote:Uh.

What?
"Algorithms" is about as generic as "Computers". :lol:

You need to go into far more detail about what sort of algorithms you need and what you're trying to use them for (AI, pathfinding, collision detection, your math homework?).
Falco Girgis wrote:It is imperative that I can broadcast my narcissistic commit strings to the Twitter! Tweet Tweet, bitches! :twisted:
sparda
Chaos Rift Junior
Chaos Rift Junior

Post by sparda »

No actually, this is a valid question. I took an algorithms class not so long ago, so such a school study is certainly well defined and specific. I recommend books by Knuth; but since you're looking for a introduction (Knuth is pretty hardcore), I'd say buy this book instead: McGraw Hill - Introduction To Algorithms, 2nd Edition.
MarauderIIC
Respected Programmer
Respected Programmer

Post by MarauderIIC »

I don't remember what book I had for my Algorithm Design course, but in your searches you may throw in the word "design".
Actually I'm not sure that I even had one. Maybe we just used wikipedia.
I realized the moment I fell into the fissure that the book would not be destroyed as I had planned.
avansc
Respected Programmer
Respected Programmer

Post by avansc »