My Random Game
Moderator: PC Supremacists
-
- Chaos Rift Newbie
- Posts: 34
- Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 5:16 pm
My Random Game
Hey all, I am currently following some C++ tutorials. Whilst doing this I am applying the code to make a random game. So far I have a game menu. I really aint sure how this is going to turn out, Im just making it up as I go along. But as its just a console application Im imaging it will be some sort of text adventure game. I will keep you all posted as time goes on.
- LeonBlade
- Chaos Rift Demigod
- Posts: 1314
- Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 12:22 am
- Current Project: Trying to make my first engine in C++ using OGL
- Favorite Gaming Platforms: PS3
- Programming Language of Choice: C++
- Location: Blossvale, NY
Re: My Random Game
Sounds like a cool idea
I'll be keeping watch on this, most definitely.
I'll be keeping watch on this, most definitely.
There's no place like ~/
-
- Chaos Rift Newbie
- Posts: 34
- Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 5:16 pm
Re: My Random Game
Not really done much so far. I have changed from VC++ to Dev C++. It seems to work as I expected. Redone all my code so far and added the ability for multi coloured text. Going to start designing my player and monster classes soon and create some basic battle system. Then need to design some sort of file structure to hold level information in, which may be quite a challenge.
- Bakkon
- Chaos Rift Junior
- Posts: 384
- Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 2:38 pm
- Programming Language of Choice: C++
- Location: Indiana
Re: My Random Game
Why would you do this?dream_coder wrote:I have changed from VC++ to Dev C++.
-
- Chaos Rift Newbie
- Posts: 34
- Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 5:16 pm
Re: My Random Game
I was just having problems with VC++ earlier on. WHen Ive run more or less identical code in Dev C++ Im getting less errors. Aint sure why this is.
Re: My Random Game
Visual c++ has a better debugger maybe? loldream_coder wrote:I was just having problems with VC++ earlier on. WHen Ive run more or less identical code in Dev C++ Im getting less errors. Aint sure why this is.
-
- Chaos Rift Newbie
- Posts: 34
- Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 5:16 pm
Re: My Random Game
Guess I might try it again in VC++ now I have sorted out the header file problems that I had before. And VC++ does look prettier as well, lol.
- Moosader
- Game Developer
- Posts: 1081
- Joined: Wed May 07, 2008 12:29 am
- Current Project: Find out at: http://www.youtube.com/coderrach
- Favorite Gaming Platforms: PC, NES, SNES, PS2, PS1, DS, PSP, X360, WII
- Programming Language of Choice: C++
- Location: Kansas City
- Contact:
Re: My Random Game
I'd suggest using Code::Blocks instead. VC++ is very old and outdated, never updated anymore. Code::Blocks, Eclipse, or NetBeans (I think it has a C++ environment?) are decent alternatives to Visual Studio.dream_coder wrote:I was just having problems with VC++ earlier on. WHen Ive run more or less identical code in Dev C++ Im getting less errors. Aint sure why this is.
- Bakkon
- Chaos Rift Junior
- Posts: 384
- Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 2:38 pm
- Programming Language of Choice: C++
- Location: Indiana
Re: My Random Game
Wait what? Are we talking about the same thing?Moosader wrote:VC++ is very old and outdated, never updated anymore.
http://www.microsoft.com/express/Downlo ... Visual-CPP
I use this and love it.
Re: My Random Game
she meant dev c++...
Edit: at least I thought...
Edit: at least I thought...
Re: My Random Game
:>Moosader wrote:VC++ is very old and outdated, never updated anymore.
-
- Chaos Rift Newbie
- Posts: 34
- Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 5:16 pm
Re: My Random Game
OK Ive finally got VC++ working the way I want it to, for now. Think my previous problems were my lack of knowledge in VC++ 2008. Just had a look at MSDN and it turns out that before when I was selecting a CLR COnsole App for my project I was doing it wrong. Ive now done it as a Win32 Console app with no precompiled headers and it works just fine. Totally different from when I did C++ at uni years and years ago as we used VC++ 6 back then. Shame I aint really touched it since then up until now.
-
- Chaos Rift Newbie
- Posts: 34
- Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2010 10:18 pm
Re: My Random Game
Moosader wrote:I'd suggest using Code::Blocks instead. VC++ is very old and outdated, never updated anymore. Code::Blocks, Eclipse, or NetBeans (I think it has a C++ environment?) are decent alternatives to Visual Studio.dream_coder wrote:I was just having problems with VC++ earlier on. WHen Ive run more or less identical code in Dev C++ Im getting less errors. Aint sure why this is.
Netbeans - nod nod- ! Very good editor in my book!
- RyanPridgeon
- Chaos Rift Maniac
- Posts: 447
- Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 1:34 pm
- Current Project: "Triangle"
- Favorite Gaming Platforms: PC
- Programming Language of Choice: C/C++
- Location: UK
- Contact:
Re: My Random Game
Aye, get your IDE sorted and get to work, programming isn't easy
Look forward to seeing your progress!
Look forward to seeing your progress!