Hello there!
I am currently developing a small program that allows me to take control over the keyboard.
However, I've come across a wall that I need to climb over to make further progress.
Until now, I've set almost everything up. I have programmed a window with different menus,
and I can read the user's input (tracking the keys that are being pressed).
And with that information stored, I want to set that key to do something special, like automatically type "Hello my friend!".
Here's my problem, you see. I have no clue on how I can make the program type anything at all.
I really need to know how I can make my program type stuff out, just like you would typing on the actual keyboard.
I am using Windows Vista, programming in C++ with Dev-C++ as my IDE.
Thanks for all answers!
Making keyboard macros
Moderator: Coders of Rage
-
- Chaos Rift Demigod
- Posts: 991
- Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2008 3:16 pm
- Current Project: Elysian Shadows
- Favorite Gaming Platforms: Amiga, PSOne, NDS
- Programming Language of Choice: C++
- Location: Sweden
Re: Making keyboard macros
This. Make sure you delay the keystrokes a little bit one after the other, too many of them will have you forced to cut the power so be careful.
- dandymcgee
- ES Beta Backer
- Posts: 4709
- Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2008 3:24 pm
- Current Project: https://github.com/dbechrd/RicoTech
- Favorite Gaming Platforms: NES, Sega Genesis, PS2, PC
- Programming Language of Choice: C
- Location: San Francisco
- Contact:
Re: Making keyboard macros
You could always take a look at http://www.autoitscript.com for a higher level approach. It's a scripting language originally designed with automating windows tasks in mind. Developing something like this would take just a few minutes for anyone with a basic understanding of programming.
Falco Girgis wrote:It is imperative that I can broadcast my narcissistic commit strings to the Twitter! Tweet Tweet, bitches!
- superLED
- Chaos Rift Junior
- Posts: 303
- Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2010 10:56 am
- Current Project: Engine
- Favorite Gaming Platforms: N64
- Programming Language of Choice: C++, PHP
- Location: Norway
Re: Making keyboard macros
Thank you so much! Got just what I was looking for.
Now the journey can finally move on :D
Now the journey can finally move on :D