qt with gamedevelopment
Moderator: PC Supremacists
-
- Chaos Rift Cool Newbie
- Posts: 62
- Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2011 6:08 pm
- Current Project: Map editor
- Favorite Gaming Platforms: nes,nds,snes,DOS,GBA,the Nd,android
- Programming Language of Choice: c/++,javascript,Java
- Location: Sweden,skåne,Tecomatorp
qt with gamedevelopment
Is it possible to make games with the qt libary and qt creato(question mark)
- Falco Girgis
- Elysian Shadows Team
- Posts: 10294
- Joined: Thu May 20, 2004 2:04 pm
- Current Project: Elysian Shadows
- Favorite Gaming Platforms: Dreamcast, SNES, NES
- Programming Language of Choice: C/++
- Location: Studio Vorbis, AL
- Contact:
Re: qt with gamedevelopment
Uh... sure? You can make games with a command-line terminal or any other input/output mechanism.Tom_leonardsson wrote:Is it possible to make games with the qt libary and qt creato(question mark)
You may want to take a few minutes to be a little more specific, so we'll bother taking a few minutes to formulate a more specific response...
-
- Chaos Rift Cool Newbie
- Posts: 62
- Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2011 6:08 pm
- Current Project: Map editor
- Favorite Gaming Platforms: nes,nds,snes,DOS,GBA,the Nd,android
- Programming Language of Choice: c/++,javascript,Java
- Location: Sweden,skåne,Tecomatorp
Re: qt with gamedevelopment
can it show grapichs and use input?GyroVorbis wrote:Uh... sure? You can make games with a command-line terminal or any other input/output mechanism.Tom_leonardsson wrote:Is it possible to make games with the qt libary and qt creato(question mark)
You may want to take a few minutes to be a little more specific, so we'll bother taking a few minutes to formulate a more specific response...
- superLED
- Chaos Rift Junior
- Posts: 303
- Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2010 10:56 am
- Current Project: Engine
- Favorite Gaming Platforms: N64
- Programming Language of Choice: C++, PHP
- Location: Norway
Re: qt with gamedevelopment
It can show graphics. Otherwise Qt wouldn't be Qt, I guess.Tom_leonardsson wrote:can it show grapichs and use input?GyroVorbis wrote:Uh... sure? You can make games with a command-line terminal or any other input/output mechanism.Tom_leonardsson wrote:Is it possible to make games with the qt libary and qt creato(question mark)
You may want to take a few minutes to be a little more specific, so we'll bother taking a few minutes to formulate a more specific response...
I'm not really sure how well it handles input from the keyboard, but I think you can make it work.
However, if you really want to make a proper game, I would suggest you find something else to play around with. Something that is made for game development.
I guess, making games with Qt is like eating soup with a fork.
- Falco Girgis
- Elysian Shadows Team
- Posts: 10294
- Joined: Thu May 20, 2004 2:04 pm
- Current Project: Elysian Shadows
- Favorite Gaming Platforms: Dreamcast, SNES, NES
- Programming Language of Choice: C/++
- Location: Studio Vorbis, AL
- Contact:
Re: qt with gamedevelopment
QT can handle keyboard input perfectly fine... It can even integrate with OpenGL for graphics...
Would I recommend you use it for a "game"? Probably not, but it sure as hell can do it. It can do some extreeeeeemely powerful shit for ANY kind of software development task.
Would I recommend you use it for a "game"? Probably not, but it sure as hell can do it. It can do some extreeeeeemely powerful shit for ANY kind of software development task.
- LeonBlade
- Chaos Rift Demigod
- Posts: 1314
- Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 12:22 am
- Current Project: Trying to make my first engine in C++ using OGL
- Favorite Gaming Platforms: PS3
- Programming Language of Choice: C++
- Location: Blossvale, NY
Re: qt with gamedevelopment
What he said. ^GyroVorbis wrote:QT can handle keyboard input perfectly fine... It can even integrate with OpenGL for graphics...
Would I recommend you use it for a "game"? Probably not, but it sure as hell can do it. It can do some extreeeeeemely powerful shit for ANY kind of software development task.
Qt can be used to help with making tools for your game though. It's great for things like level editors for example using QGLWidgets and the other fancy stuff.
Don't go making the game in Qt however, unless you like adding functionality where it doesn't need to be. Keep your game engine simple and just code that with another IDE and then you can create various tools you might need for your engine in Qt. Just make sure that if you're going to do this, I would suggest refraining from retyping code for certain things, say for example loading map files. One minute you think you have everything you need in your map file structure, until SUDDENLY IT HAPPENS you need to add or remove something, whatever. Now your Toolkit is out of sync and will crash and fuck up when you try to load your new maps.
So for this you should create a class that can handle loading in your map and then use the class to load the map rather than rewriting your map code. If I remember correctly, Falco implemented the AssetIO class which I believe Marcell uses in the level editor as well to load in things like maps and other various things so that you can focus on one implementation of loading some file or whatever and then the AssetIO class can handle passing it back to whatever needs the functionality without worrying about interference.
Most of this stuff should be kind of obvious, but I figured I'd kind of just leave it here just in case. And of course if I'm wrong about what ES is doing for files between the engine and editor please feel free to correct me.
Anyways, hope that helps some.
There's no place like ~/
- Falco Girgis
- Elysian Shadows Team
- Posts: 10294
- Joined: Thu May 20, 2004 2:04 pm
- Current Project: Elysian Shadows
- Favorite Gaming Platforms: Dreamcast, SNES, NES
- Programming Language of Choice: C/++
- Location: Studio Vorbis, AL
- Contact:
Re: qt with gamedevelopment
This the general idea.LeonBlade wrote:. If I remember correctly, Falco implemented the AssetIO class which I believe Marcell uses in the level editor as well to load in things like maps and other various things so that you can focus on one implementation of loading some file or whatever and then the AssetIO class can handle passing it back to whatever needs the functionality without worrying about interference.
But the AssetIO "framework" is waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay more than just a class. It's a gigantic chunk of the Elysian Shadows runtime including levels, areas, terrain, maps, the entire Entity/Component framework, and even a tiny portion of LibGyro. From a run-time standpoint, the Toolkit operates like Lua--using the AssetIO to dynamically connect components to Entities, manage assets, modify terrain, etc. Actually quite a bit of the interface for the Toolkit to access the engine is the exact same as for Lua to access the engine...
- LeonBlade
- Chaos Rift Demigod
- Posts: 1314
- Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 12:22 am
- Current Project: Trying to make my first engine in C++ using OGL
- Favorite Gaming Platforms: PS3
- Programming Language of Choice: C++
- Location: Blossvale, NY
Re: qt with gamedevelopment
That's good design. And thanks for the correction and the juicy details.GyroVorbis wrote:This the general idea.LeonBlade wrote:. If I remember correctly, Falco implemented the AssetIO class which I believe Marcell uses in the level editor as well to load in things like maps and other various things so that you can focus on one implementation of loading some file or whatever and then the AssetIO class can handle passing it back to whatever needs the functionality without worrying about interference.
But the AssetIO "framework" is waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay more than just a class. It's a gigantic chunk of the Elysian Shadows runtime including levels, areas, terrain, maps, the entire Entity/Component framework, and even a tiny portion of LibGyro. From a run-time standpoint, the Toolkit operates like Lua--using the AssetIO to dynamically connect components to Entities, manage assets, modify terrain, etc. Actually quite a bit of the interface for the Toolkit to access the engine is the exact same as for Lua to access the engine...
There's no place like ~/