Why the hell are you input values 19 digits long? Seriously?THe Floating Brain wrote:God I feel realy embaressedDamn C++ book lied to meGyroVorbis wrote: Honestly, why in fuck's name would you be using doubles? Why would you EVER need that kind of precision? That's only for exact numbers and scientific calculations.
And keep in mind that there is not a 1-to-1 relationship between an IEEE 32-bit single precision float (the variable you know as "float") and an integer. How many bytes are used to represent both? Float = 4 bytes. Integer = 4 bytes. They are literally the same size. They are literally both only capable of holding a permutation of their number of bits.Not any more I did though beacuse I am apparently a terrible programmerN64vSNES wrote:So...You want to fuck with SFML's source because you want to use a double over a float?19 digets.xiphirx wrote:I'm really confused....
How big are your input values? Do you know what the range of a long is?...Why do you think that?xiphirx wrote:This is where your values are messed up, I think...Code: Select all
//Go The Desired Speed.// GotoX *= Speed; GotoY *= Speed;
hence...xiphirx wrote: Just to note, it looks like you don't have a good grasp on vectors. If you did, you would have probably used SFML's own vector2f class :POkay so I finally think I have a rough idea of vectors and I wrote these functions
Should I modify SFML???
Moderator: PC Supremacists
- xiphirx
- Chaos Rift Junior
- Posts: 324
- Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:15 pm
- Current Project: ******** (Unkown for the time being)
- Favorite Gaming Platforms: PC
- Programming Language of Choice: C++
- Contact:
Re: Should I modify SFML???
StarCraft II Zerg Strategy, open to all levels of players!
Looking for paid work :< Contact me if you are interested in creating a website, need a web design, or anything else you think I'm capable of
Looking for paid work :< Contact me if you are interested in creating a website, need a web design, or anything else you think I'm capable of
- THe Floating Brain
- Chaos Rift Junior
- Posts: 284
- Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 7:22 pm
- Current Project: RTS possible Third Person shooter engine.
- Favorite Gaming Platforms: PC, Wii, Xbox 360, GAME CUBE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
- Programming Language of Choice: C/C++, Python 3, C#
- Location: U.S
Re: Should I modify SFML???
They are not
"Why did we say we were going to say we were going to change the world tomorrow yesterday? Maybe you can." - Myself
- Ginto8
- ES Beta Backer
- Posts: 1064
- Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2009 4:12 pm
- Programming Language of Choice: C/C++, Java
Re: Should I modify SFML???
measuring precision of binary integers by decimal digits is not only ridiculous, it's pointless. 32 bits. Thats a little over 4 billion combinations, which means up to about 4 billion unsigned, 2 billion to negative 2 billion signed. Don't count binary ints by digits blease.
Quit procrastinating and make something awesome.
Ducky wrote:Give a man some wood, he'll be warm for the night. Put him on fire and he'll be warm for the rest of his life.
- THe Floating Brain
- Chaos Rift Junior
- Posts: 284
- Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 7:22 pm
- Current Project: RTS possible Third Person shooter engine.
- Favorite Gaming Platforms: PC, Wii, Xbox 360, GAME CUBE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
- Programming Language of Choice: C/C++, Python 3, C#
- Location: U.S
Re: Should I modify SFML???
Srry I ment range of accuracy ^
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VGO3CGVYi-E <- 0.0
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VGO3CGVYi-E <- 0.0
"Why did we say we were going to say we were going to change the world tomorrow yesterday? Maybe you can." - Myself